diabetic but no thrist? Wrong diagnosis? Advice/

Status
Not open for further replies.

nilremk2

New Member
Maddie my 7 year old tabby had her blood tested at vets because of her enormous appetite and she came up with high blood sugar ranging from 78 to 238 but that high score was only once. She doesn't drink very much water at all and doesn't urinate that much and due to a weird questionable shape that came up on her sonogram but then couldn't be located again (but in region of pancreas) am wondering if anyone knows if sometimes blood sugar can go up due to other things than diabetes? She really drinks very little water. Is this very unusual? :?: Am confused and vet doesn't seem to know. And am in France in country so not great resources here! Thanks for any input! Maddie's Mom
 
Cats' blood glucose can be effected by stress, other ailments, as well as diabetes...or all three at once! :sad: There are others here much more knowledgeable than I but hoping this bumps up your post for them to see. :-D
 
Are you able to go to a human pharmacy and purchase a glucometer and test strips?

If you can do that, you can start testing at home and see if the numbers are really diabetic or not.

The tests done at the vet can be affected by many factors, including vet stress - taking the kitty outside the home and into a strange environment, where a stranger is poking and prodding. Not fun and highly stressful.

What kind of food are you feeding your cat. Even if your cat doesn't have diabetes, following a diabetic food protocol is a very healthy diet for the cat. and that consists of NO dry food and feeding canned or wet food that is low in carbs. There is a chart that can help you figure out what is low carbs. It's on the health link section - Janet & Binky's food chart.

But for simplistic purposes - canned food that does not contain gravy and is not chunky, diced, sliced or grilled - basically feeding a mushy puree style food.

and yes, when you take the cat to the vet the BG's could go up 100 points or more, due to the stress.

Personally, I wouldn't base a diagnosis on only one test taken at the vet's office. Unless the vet did a fructosamine test - which tests the bg's level average over a 2-3 week period.
 
Is the cat dehydrated?

One way to tell: Gently pull up the skin at the scruff of the neck then let it go. If it s l o w l y goes back to normal, the cat is very dehydrated.

Another way to tell: Lift the lip and press firmly on the gums then release. If it turns pink quickly, the cat is doing well. If it stays whitish or the gum feels vey tacky, the cat is dehydrated. This method is better for less severe dehydration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top