Hi Clare and welcome to the FDMB! Some people call this the best place you never expected to be.
A diagnosis of diabetes in your cat can be scary. It can be controlled and many cats can even achieve remission with proper diet and insulin. We have had members with diabetic cats that have lived ten years or more with diabetes.
The collective experience of members on this board can help you in many ways. Food choices, insulin choices, current vet journal published research, other health issues common to diabetic cats like constipation, CRF, UTI's, appetite issues and a whole host of other areas.
Elizabeth and Bertie said: However, if you do switch your cat to a diet lower in carbohydrates it would be advisable to learn to 'hometest' (test his blood glucose at home) first. That's because lowering the carb content of the diet can dramatically lower blood glucose levels in some cats; and an insulin dose that may be OK prior to the switch could be too much on the reduced-carb diet.
I wanted to emphasize this because it is very important. A switch from a higher carb food can drop the BG (blood glucose) levels 100 points or more and it can happen very quickly. Without knowing what your cats BG's are, switching foods can lead to low numbers and the potential for a hypo.
1. Where do you live? US, Canada, International? We ask because then we can tailor advice such as glucometers and food to where you live.
2. How long has your cat been on his current insulin? In other words, what date did you switch from the old insulin to the new insulin?
3. What testing is being done currently at the vet clinic? How often? We ask so we know how the insulin is being adjusted and how your cat is being monitored.
4. Do you monitor urine for ketones and or glucose? We ask because these are other ways to monitor your cat.
5. Is your cat on any other medications? We ask because some medications can impact BG (blood glucose) numbers.
With the answers to these questions and those that Elizabeth asked, we will be better able to help you.