Ran & Solo
Member Since 2021
Hi everyone! Thanks for all your feedback in advance!
I wonder for anyone with experience of diabetes relapse, did your kitties need much larger dose to be regulated? Did you have to switch to different type of insulin? Was it possible to reach remission for more than once?
Anything you can share would be really helpful!
More information:
Solo became diabetic in Dec 2021 after an episode of acute pancreatitis, and had remission in June 2022 following the tight regulation protocol using Lantus (thanks very much to this forum!!).
He recently became diabetic again, with blood sugar in the 375 - 550mg/dl (20 - 30 mmol/l) range on a human meter! I've started him on insulin treatment again and it's been almost 3 weeks, and I still haven't been able to bring him down close to the normal range. He's now at 2U Lantus BID, and the Nadirs are around 250gm/dl (14 mmol/l). Previously the largest dose he ever needed was just 1.5U (for a very short period of time).
I wonder for anyone with experience of diabetes relapse, did your kitties need much larger dose to be regulated? Did you have to switch to different type of insulin? Was it possible to reach remission for more than once?
Anything you can share would be really helpful!
More information:
Solo became diabetic in Dec 2021 after an episode of acute pancreatitis, and had remission in June 2022 following the tight regulation protocol using Lantus (thanks very much to this forum!!).
He recently became diabetic again, with blood sugar in the 375 - 550mg/dl (20 - 30 mmol/l) range on a human meter! I've started him on insulin treatment again and it's been almost 3 weeks, and I still haven't been able to bring him down close to the normal range. He's now at 2U Lantus BID, and the Nadirs are around 250gm/dl (14 mmol/l). Previously the largest dose he ever needed was just 1.5U (for a very short period of time).