Diabetes newly diagnosed, help in my city?

Status
Not open for further replies.

darlie

Member Since 2014
I live in Lakeville, MN. Just wondering if there is someone close to me who has some experience with this... testing, shots, food, etc. I am in a little panic here, a little overwhelmed! Darleen

Thanks!!!
 
I am pretty close to you; I am staying with a friend in Minneapolis.
Do you have the supplies for testing? We can show you how to test if you like.
How is your cat with strangers?

Gayle and Pattie
 
Tell us a bit obout your kitty, what insulin, what diet, any other issues.
 
Darleen,
You need to pick up a human blood glucometer at any pharmcy.... the Relion meters work just fine.
pick up test strips for the meter you get, and lancets and lancet device.

If you have the testing stuff already, or can get them tomorrow, we can drive over and teach you.
Just let us know so we can arrange our day.

Gayle
 
Darleen,
I am not nearby and am a newbie, but can tell you the people on this website/message board are here for you 100%. I have been going thru some tough times with my guy and they are so very supportive. We will all help you through this!
 
I got the One Touch Ultra. I tried pricking the ear, but I think I'm not pricking in the right spot on the ear. From the front or back, I just am not sure... so glad my baby boy looks at me as if to ask why am I so nervous! What a buddy. Did one prick and it was 243...that's if I did it correctly.?
 
Hey Darleen!

I am in Burnsville, MN and my vet's clinic is in Lakeville (along with my sister and her husband)....


More than happy to try and help if you need it. I am fairly new to this stuff, but willing to help out if you need it. I home test Skooter, my cat, have him on an all wet low carb diet, and working on reducing Skooter's insulin.

What vet office do you go to?
 
darlie said:
I got the One Touch Ultra. I tried pricking the ear, but I think I'm not pricking in the right spot on the ear. From the front or back, I just am not sure... so glad my baby boy looks at me as if to ask why am I so nervous! What a buddy. Did one prick and it was 243...that's if I did it correctly.?
Welcome to the Vampire Club!

When was the test with respect to getting insulin?
AMPS - AM pre-shot
PMPS - PM pre-shot
+# - a test # hours post insulin
Ex +5 is 5 hours after a shot
We do it this way because interpretation of the number depends on when the shot happened.
 
[False assumption removed by Moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Dear Scooter Burnsville!

I am not sure I am replying correctly, so I hope you get this. Yes, someone did offer to help, but then I never heard back...again, unless I was replying incorrectly.

I certainly would like to maybe have even a 10 minute visit with you, at my house or yours, to watch and do a cat glucose testing. I am open most afternoons, most days. I live in Lakeville, off Highview and 172nd, by Cherryview Elementary. Do you drive? Whatever location would work best for you. If you get this, you can email me at dkomolo@msn.com and we'll exchange phone #'s and get directions. Might be better at my house to do this on my cat, but either place would be ok and I promise to try and not take but a few minutes of your time.

Our vet is Dakota Pet,
Darleen
 
Skooter's vet is Dakota Pet Hospital as well :)

They are the ones that actually taught me how to home test my cat :)

What insulin did they put your sugar baby on? I will shoot you an email. Depending on how Skooter tests on Saturday, that should work for me. How is your cat with strangers?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top