Diabetes / Kidney / Pancreatic / Lantus insuline

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Din, Mar 19, 2023 at 12:15 AM.

  1. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Din,
    Can you fill out the BG numbers in the SS for today so we can see what has been happening please. I have asked @Bandit's Mom if she can fill out the BG data for what happened last night so leave that space clear please.
    We need you to get hold of those insulin Syringes as soon as possible, so you don’t have to use the pen.
    U 100. 3/10, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes.
    We can’t get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia.

    Here is the link to some if you need to order online. Make sure you tick the 0.3ml x 31G x 8 mm ones
    https://www.medicalaestheticsupplie...MIx9WzgPji_QIV0JpmAh1XEgs6EAQYByABEgI9oPD_BwE
     
    Din likes this.
  3. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    H Bron
    I filled the most recent BG on SS. ITS GOINT DOWN SO FAST..
     
  4. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    Thank you @Bron and Sheba (GA) I’ll order that syringe online,

    I left that space clear for @Bandit's Mom . Thank you Bandit”s mom

    I'm really worry to give insuline today. Its going down so fast
     
  5. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you Bron I’ll order that syringe online,

    I left that space clear for @Bandit's Mom . Thank you Bandit”s mom,
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  6. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s 9.6 @ 6.45pm

    shall I skip the insulin Bron ?
     
  7. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You must be very tired today. Did you get any sleep at all during the day?
    What time is the insulin due?
    The day before yesterday you gave 1 drop of insulin. How did you do that with the pen?
    Don’t give any insulin until we decide what is best to do.
     
  8. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes I’m tired and stressed because it’s going down without insulin,

    1unit does have 4 drops, I inject the needle and within one second took it back. Not sure how many drops went to body . But I assume it’s one drop .

    It’s due @7
    I’m not giving insulin until you tell me
     
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Tell me what the BG is in 10 minutes…update BG with the BG as well please
     
  10. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s 9. 8
     
  11. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you put that into the SS please.
    Is she eating today?
     
  12. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I did update Bron
    Yes 1can fancy feast chicken chunky
    Royal canine diabetes biscuits (8
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think maybe skip tonight because she is dropping and you are exhausted.
    But you need to start giving the insulin in the morning and not the night, when you are awake to monitor the BGs.
    And you need to start giving it twice a day once you get the syringes
    Please order the syringes tonight
    You need to make sure she gets plenty of food tonight even though she is not getting the insulin.

    Can you syringe feed her some food?
     
    Din likes this.
  14. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Okay Bron I’ll feed her I’ll get back to you within 15 minutes.baby crying nonstop
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi @Din , @Bron and Sheba (GA) sorry for the delay in responding. Have not been able to be around much last night and this morning.

    Whenever you can, could you please share the link to the spreadsheet that you use to edit it? No rush. Thanks!
     
    Din likes this.
  16. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s no 8.3 I don’t know how it’s dropping without insulin
     
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The depot from the 3 units you gave last night are probably still working.
    So no insulin tonight BUT I think it would be best if you swap to giving the insulin in the mornings at 7 am and then you will be awake to monitor the BGs instead of at night.
    Can you do that?
    Once you get the syringes (please order them tonight!) we can work out a dose that works so you can give it twice a day.
    Are you OK with all this so far?

    then in the morning at 7 am I won’t be available but hopefully @tiffmaxee can help you with the dose in the morning.OK?

    Put NS (no shot) into the unit column for this evening please.
     
    Din likes this.
  18. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I have entered today data Bron
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  19. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Okay Bron I will order it tonight. I’m trying to stay strong. I hope this drop in will stop soon.
     
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    She should be ok as she hasn’t had any insulin for nearly 24 hours. Just give her some food.
    Did you understand about swapping giving the insulin in the mornings instead of the night time from tomorrow?
     
    Din likes this.
  21. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    yes Bron I

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ghAYabPYmKCxJ25NtUrYVyGs1EBg9Cc8Z61xePi9jFE/edit#gid=5

    you mean above link ?
     
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think you need to talk to @Bandit's Mom on a private message…do you know how to do that?
     
  23. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    Yes Bron I Can give it in the morning. I gave her Royal canine indoor 7+ bisicuts (8) FF chicken gravy . she is just licking gravy
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  24. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes Bron I can send a privet msg . I will do it now
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  25. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Bron is honey can cause pancreatic, her belly seems biger than yesterday and feel heavy
     
  26. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Not that I am aware of. Does she seem unwell?
     
  27. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    she is sleeping most of the time as her usual habit, these days shes is exhasted becz im giving her medicine. going to to a blood test tomorrow. i had a appointment today but I canceled it,
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  28. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Please talk to the vet about the feeding tube. She is not eating enough.
     
  29. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    okay Bron i will talk to him about it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2023 at 4:50 AM
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  31. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I sent a conversation stating msg . Sorry Bron. What exactly should I ask from her ?
     
  32. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    She is going to put on all the data from last night into your SS for you. She knows about it:)

    I hope you can get a good sleep tonight.
    Try and get Cierra to eat before you go to bed.
    And post and tag @tiffmaxee in the morning about the dose if the BG is high enough.
    I hope the baby is more settled for you.
     
  33. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you so much Bron, her BG - now 12 .4

    hope it will stay within range, thank you again Bron….!!!!!
     
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Also ask vet for some antinausea tablets such as cerenia so you can give at home….important,
    I would suggest zofran but I doubt they would know about them,
    I’m off to bed…you must be exhausted!
     
    Din likes this.
  35. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    Okay Bron I’ll ask about it. Yes I’m exhausted, you must be exhausted too without sleeping last night. Have a GOOD NIGHT Bron …!!! God bless you
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  36. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    @tiffmaxee Good Morning from Australia. Please help me to decide insulin dose for Cierra, sorry I can’t enter data to SS right now.
    Her BG is
    @12am 12.6
    @1am12.8
    @2am 10.8
    @3am 21.7
    @4am 20.3
    @5am 22.8

    insuline due at 7pm. But skipped it as BG dropped. @Bron advised me to give it in the morning and get help from you to decide dose.

    please help me. Thank you
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Please get a BG now but it looks like you will be okay to shoot. It’s 30 minutes before amps right?
     
  38. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s now 21.6,

    before go to hospital I gave her Morning 3units and evening 3units .

    Doctor yell at me glargine is 24 hours one so he started gave only evening 3 units

    then gradually reduced dose because her BG was low.

    nearly two weeks she got only 1 unit at evening.

    but day before day I made a mistake and yesterday her BG was within range around insulin time. So I skipped.

    that’s why need to give insulin this morning

    and I have to go back to mornings and evening dose again

    So shall I give 1 unit now ?
     
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d try 1.0 and see how it goes. Can you monitor?
     
    Din likes this.
  40. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes I can monitor Tiff. Then I’ll give 1 unit. thank you :)
     
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ll check back. Get a +1 and +2. It will be good once you get the syringes and can dose every 12 hours.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and Din like this.
  42. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you get a +1 and +2? What were the results?
     
  44. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes Tiff
    +1- 19.1
    +2 - 16.1
     
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How’s the appetite today? Looks like you will be fine today. I’d test again at +4.
     
  46. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you tiff?’, yes she did eat some.
     
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Keep offering her food please.
     
    Din likes this.
  48. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Okay i give her food
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  49. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s going down 12 .8
     
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Is that at +5? That’s around 230, right? That’s fine. Is she eating?
     
    Din likes this.
  51. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Hi Tiff , just came from vet , I’ll update all data to SS now…!!!!
     
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good. Let me know what the vet had to say.
     
    Din likes this.
  53. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I Just update today's Blood rest results on Cierra's SS. Please tell me your thoughts.....
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The date says the 9th. Is that the latest? No AST? The ALT is elevated but not much over twice normal so I’d just watch that. It should come down as she feels better. Potassium is low but she’s not eating enough or drinking so that should resolve as well. Is your vet ok with giving insulin two times a day?
     
  55. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Please check it now Tiff,

    vet very strict about only one dose per day.
     
  56. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Lantus doesn’t last 24 hours in cats. What will you do?
    Can you list the normal ranges on your lab sheet?
     
  57. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I have listed the normal range which is elevated today .I’ll update the normal Range for others soon Tiff
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2023 at 10:49 PM
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The high GGT could be from pancreatitis or liver disease. I’d recheck once she’s feeling better.
     
  59. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    GGT not elevated today Tiff.

    sorry to make you confused. Please check first column. 20/03/2023

    ElevateD one I mark from red . Urea/ Total protein/Globulin/ALP
     
  60. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
  61. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Din
    Did you talk to the vet about giving insulin twice a day?
    How is Cierra eating now?
    Did you talk to the vet about the feeding tube?
    Did you get any cerenia for nausea?
    Did you order the syringes last night?
     
    Din likes this.
  62. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    Yes I did ask Bron . He said NO to all my questions.
    He said NO for insulin twice a day.

    After he checked my records Cierras eating, said does not need tube for her . Her appetite increasing.(Yes that’s true I can see she is eating better but not 100. )

    For Cerenia - he said as a vet he cannot give cerenia . Because cat vomit for few reasons. He said he needs to check Cierras Blood before give Cerenia.

    it’s really hard to get what we want from this vet. I told him Cierra not going out side, no chance to eat poison at all. But he didn’t give Cerenia. I asked to check blood pressure, he wants me to come in another day.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2023 at 2:49 AM
  63. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Did you order the syringes last night?
    I think we should wait until the syringes arrive and then look at giving the insulin twice a day.
    But until then, give it each morning so you can sleep at night and monitor the BGs during the day.
    Is that OK with you?
     
    Din likes this.
  64. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes I did order Bron . It’s going to come 23 rd .( according to the tracking)

    Do you think we can give just 1 unit ? Because it’s high BG today.anyway I’m stay awake most of the time because of the baby

    But if you are thinking I should wait I’ll wait Bron
     
  65. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I can see the BGs are higher but I'm not sure 1 unit twice a day is what is needed.
    She may need 1/2 unit twice a day, which we can try when the syringes arrive.
    Are you managing to get enough sleep?. I am worried for you and the baby.
    What is the preshot BG tonight?
     
  66. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    :)

    Preshot is 20.9.but i wonder I made her stress giving medication . I’m getting used it. I mean less sleep :) Thank You Bron :bighug:
    Okay I’ll wait until Syringe comes.

    please check Cierras blood results Bron .
     
  67. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I doubt you make her stressed to the point of sending up the BG as the +11 was 262 and the +12 was 376.
    If you are happy to go against what your vet says about only once a day insulin…then I think we can give 1 unit tonight.
    You will need to monitor the BGs and if they drop a lot tag me for the next 3hours and then after that @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee.
    OK? Do you understand all that ok Din ?
    Then in the morning you need to ask @tiffmaxee about the dose. OK.?
    Please keep the SS up to date so we can see what is happening Din:)
    And feed Cierra often
    And try and get some sleep as well.

    Does your husband help at all with the baby?
    Let me know when you decide if you are going to give 1 unit tonight please.
     
  68. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    I prefer to give twice per day Bron. Because I trust you all than my vet. after come home from work he is cooking and doing all housework. But With the baby I do look after her most of the time.

    I will not give insulin tonight I’ll wait for that syringe. Then we can start giving insulin twice a day. Thank you Bron.
     
  69. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’m glad your husband is helping you. That’s good!
    Try and get some sleep. You will feel much better.
    Makes sure Cierra eats as much as you can get her to eat.
     
    Din likes this.
  70. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I’m pushing her to eat as much as I can..!!!
    Please check Cierra”s today’s blood test results Bron, it’s on “CIERRA”s LAB” tab
     
  71. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am no expert with bloods in cats so I will tag @Suzanne & Darcy.
    But the high ALP is probably from not eating enough food so please try and get her to eat more. I don’t know why the vet won’t give you cerenia so she can eat more. I just can’t see his reasoning on that.
    The higher urea (which is only a bit above normal) when the SMDA is at the upper end of normal and the creatinine is OK could be from dehydration. The higher total protein (which is also only just above normal) could be from dehydration as well. Did you say the vet said you could do subQFluids at home?

    Let’s see what Suzanne thinks.

    Please keep SS up to date.:cat:

    Din, would you start a new thread in the morning please as this one is getting long…thanks:)
     
    Din likes this.
  72. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank Bron,

    yes I had fair reason to ask Cerenia, but he doesn’t want to give it, @Suzanne & Darcy please check Cierras Blood results on “ Cierra”s Lab” tab.

    Sure I will open a new thread tomorrow morning Bron. Good night :):)
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.

Share This Page