luxthekitty
Member Since 2013
Hello!
I have been a member for some time but have rarely posted. I work a lot and have real issues remembering to check my inbox, so I have been inactive for some time!
Lux was diagnosed just over 2 years ago. He has been up and down and the specialists thought he was insulin resistant-- he isn't. Long story short and thousands of dollars later, the doctors aren't sure why he doesn't respond to insulin like a normal cat should (but he DOES respond), and never gave me an answer after all sorts of crazy tests. It has been about a year now since draining my savings at the specialist and looking for answers before deciding that Lux seems to be in good health-- and I just need to keep a tight regulation on his insulin. His numbers jump around constantly and the amount of insulin varies based on his BG that I take before injections, twice a day, Lantus. Sometimes he doesn't get any units (BG under 150..), sometimes he needs up to 5 units (BG over 500/600).
They diagnosed him with asthma and we had a financial crisis, but he has since had little issues with this and I am not currently treating him for his asthma.
Lux had a cat friend, but my ex and I split and he has since been along for the last 8 months or so. In this time he has gotten much more lethargic, but I just moved back in with someone with a cat and they seem to be keeping each other more active which is nice (BG has spiked due to stress with another kitty).
So here is my dilemma:
Lux went for his annual shots yesterday. I am in financial hardships and struggle to maintain his diabetes care. The vet, who I trust very much and has been wonderful to us throughout this ordeal, suspects Lux has sever gingivitis (I agree-- his gums look crazy!) and will need not only a cleaning but possible and likely extraction of teeth.
The estimate is $630. I don't have this money, and I can't imagine being able to have this procedure for some time while I try my best to save or explore my credit card options-- Lux has already given me some debt. (side note: I work a full time job).
My question is: How necessary are the extractions/cleaning? I have read online that coconut oil and gentle brushing can clear up issues enough to maintain and prevent a vet trip... Ideally I would love to get Lux the care he needs but financially I don't see it happening and I don't want things to get worse. I worry that if it goes untreated it will create astronomical issues with his diabetes and I know sometimes gingivitis can cause sepsis and lead to death.
Lux is my everything! I have spent all of my savings and time and energy caring for him and I can't imagine ignoring such an issue, but I feel as though I have been backed into a corner
Thanks for any information/advice you can give! I am still very inexperienced.
XOXOXO
I have been a member for some time but have rarely posted. I work a lot and have real issues remembering to check my inbox, so I have been inactive for some time!
Lux was diagnosed just over 2 years ago. He has been up and down and the specialists thought he was insulin resistant-- he isn't. Long story short and thousands of dollars later, the doctors aren't sure why he doesn't respond to insulin like a normal cat should (but he DOES respond), and never gave me an answer after all sorts of crazy tests. It has been about a year now since draining my savings at the specialist and looking for answers before deciding that Lux seems to be in good health-- and I just need to keep a tight regulation on his insulin. His numbers jump around constantly and the amount of insulin varies based on his BG that I take before injections, twice a day, Lantus. Sometimes he doesn't get any units (BG under 150..), sometimes he needs up to 5 units (BG over 500/600).
They diagnosed him with asthma and we had a financial crisis, but he has since had little issues with this and I am not currently treating him for his asthma.
Lux had a cat friend, but my ex and I split and he has since been along for the last 8 months or so. In this time he has gotten much more lethargic, but I just moved back in with someone with a cat and they seem to be keeping each other more active which is nice (BG has spiked due to stress with another kitty).
So here is my dilemma:
Lux went for his annual shots yesterday. I am in financial hardships and struggle to maintain his diabetes care. The vet, who I trust very much and has been wonderful to us throughout this ordeal, suspects Lux has sever gingivitis (I agree-- his gums look crazy!) and will need not only a cleaning but possible and likely extraction of teeth.
The estimate is $630. I don't have this money, and I can't imagine being able to have this procedure for some time while I try my best to save or explore my credit card options-- Lux has already given me some debt. (side note: I work a full time job).
My question is: How necessary are the extractions/cleaning? I have read online that coconut oil and gentle brushing can clear up issues enough to maintain and prevent a vet trip... Ideally I would love to get Lux the care he needs but financially I don't see it happening and I don't want things to get worse. I worry that if it goes untreated it will create astronomical issues with his diabetes and I know sometimes gingivitis can cause sepsis and lead to death.
Lux is my everything! I have spent all of my savings and time and energy caring for him and I can't imagine ignoring such an issue, but I feel as though I have been backed into a corner
Thanks for any information/advice you can give! I am still very inexperienced.
XOXOXO