Diabetes & Gingivitis ... at a crossroads/seeking advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

luxthekitty

Member Since 2013
Hello!

I have been a member for some time but have rarely posted. I work a lot and have real issues remembering to check my inbox, so I have been inactive for some time!

Lux was diagnosed just over 2 years ago. He has been up and down and the specialists thought he was insulin resistant-- he isn't. Long story short and thousands of dollars later, the doctors aren't sure why he doesn't respond to insulin like a normal cat should (but he DOES respond), and never gave me an answer after all sorts of crazy tests. It has been about a year now since draining my savings at the specialist and looking for answers before deciding that Lux seems to be in good health-- and I just need to keep a tight regulation on his insulin. His numbers jump around constantly and the amount of insulin varies based on his BG that I take before injections, twice a day, Lantus. Sometimes he doesn't get any units (BG under 150..), sometimes he needs up to 5 units (BG over 500/600).

They diagnosed him with asthma and we had a financial crisis, but he has since had little issues with this and I am not currently treating him for his asthma.

Lux had a cat friend, but my ex and I split and he has since been along for the last 8 months or so. In this time he has gotten much more lethargic, but I just moved back in with someone with a cat and they seem to be keeping each other more active which is nice (BG has spiked due to stress with another kitty).

So here is my dilemma:

Lux went for his annual shots yesterday. I am in financial hardships and struggle to maintain his diabetes care. The vet, who I trust very much and has been wonderful to us throughout this ordeal, suspects Lux has sever gingivitis (I agree-- his gums look crazy!) and will need not only a cleaning but possible and likely extraction of teeth.

The estimate is $630. I don't have this money, and I can't imagine being able to have this procedure for some time while I try my best to save or explore my credit card options-- Lux has already given me some debt. (side note: I work a full time job).

My question is: How necessary are the extractions/cleaning? I have read online that coconut oil and gentle brushing can clear up issues enough to maintain and prevent a vet trip... Ideally I would love to get Lux the care he needs but financially I don't see it happening and I don't want things to get worse. I worry that if it goes untreated it will create astronomical issues with his diabetes and I know sometimes gingivitis can cause sepsis and lead to death.

Lux is my everything! I have spent all of my savings and time and energy caring for him and I can't imagine ignoring such an issue, but I feel as though I have been backed into a corner :(

Thanks for any information/advice you can give! I am still very inexperienced.

XOXOXO
 
"Bad" teeth can cause problems like elevated BG and inappetance due to pain and other problems. It all depends upon how bad they all.
Yes, dental can be expensing. I paid almost $1000 for one for one of my cats.
 
The gums are quite red and inflamed-- based on this chart I would guess they are at "Stage 2, Early Periodontitis", though the vet (who I trust very much) made no mention of this and simply spoke of gingivitis.

http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/onl ... se-in-cats

If I had the funds I would no doubt get the cleaning-- it seems like a good option, however, to put it simply... I just don't have the money. :sad:
 
Larry and Kitties said:
"Bad" teeth can cause problems like elevated BG and inappetance due to pain and other problems. It all depends upon how bad they all.
Yes, dental can be expensing. I paid almost $1000 for one for one of my cats.

I agree with Larry that the teeth might be causing some of the problems you're seeing. You might want to check DCiN and/or start a fundraiser for his dental and see if you can get help that way. I've seen a few people successfully go that route.

Another thing is that you might want to try a different insulin, like Levemir. It works similarly to Lantus, but is much smoother for some cats. Michelangelo had a tough time ever staying in consistent, good numbers on Lantus, but since switching to Levemir, his numbers have really evened out and he's stopped his mad swings and bounces.
 
Brushing is an option ... but if you attempt it while his mouth is painful, he will develop an aversion to it.

Best bet may be to try some of the online vet grants out there, &/or set up a FundRazr account (though you need permission to post a fundraiser on the message board).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top