diabetes/dandruff

Status
Not open for further replies.

datcat56

Member Since 2013
Hello, I posted here about 3 weeks ago. My cat was diagnosed with diabetes in the beginning of July . He is doing really well lots of energy, running all over the house and playing. Today i noticed that he has really bad dandruff. He has always had some but this is really bad. I tried to comb it out but he wasn't very happy about that. Any suggestions? I read that this is a sign of out of control diabetes but he seems so good otherwise.

Thank you
 
What are you feeding him?

Are you testing his blood glucose? Cats may appear OK for a while, even with elevated glucose, until they aren't.

Are you grooming him regularly?
 
Hi BJ, I am feeding him fancy feast classics, No dry food at all. You gave me a lot of advice about Ted in the beginning. No I really haven't groomed him much, he hates it. no I am not home testing him. His appetite is still out of control he eats about 5-6 cans a day. He gets 1.5 units of Lantus 2x a day.
 
In my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools has some tips on urine testing. Pick up some KetoDiaStix from your local pharmacy and get a urine test, at a minimum.
- positive glucose means the blood glucose was elevated over the renal threshold since the prior void.
- positive ketones, more than a trace, is an emergency.

The excessive appetite suggests his dose may not be optimal.
How are the drinking, peeing, etc?
 
Not without blood glucose testing, either at home or at the vet to identify that it is truly needed.
 
Wink had horrible dandruff back in December and January. We did not get it under control until his BG's were under control.

I second BJM's suggestion to start home testing. It's the best next step you can take for your cat. Won't you please consider this? We have lots of links to help you. Top Ear Testing Tips

We can give you a shopping list of supplies too. testing supplies shopping list

There even may be someone that lives close to you that can help teach you to home test. I've taught people before.

Where do you live?
 
Welcome back! I remember you back in July when you were waiting for diagnosis. At that time you were considering testing, but I think now the time has come when you need to start. My boys had dandruff because they werent cleaning well enough when their blood sugar was high - they just werent feel quite well enough.

It sounds like the dose isnt right for Ted ( could be either too low or too high) and the only way you will know if many expensive vet trips or home testing. We can help advise on home testing.. its not as bad as it sounds. I regularly get up at 3am to test my boys with my eyes (and theirs) half closed.

Also home testing is key for keeping him safe - 84% cats go into remission with a low carb wet ( like fancy feast) and a good insulin like Lantus. If he does go into remission and you shoot him without knowing how low he is, you could cause a hypo.. and that would be such a shame because had you tested, you would have had an OTJ cat instead of an ex-cat like my sister in law.
 
OK everybody I'm ready to test. When should I do it before and after he eats? I don't even no what number's I'm looking for

Thanks
 
You test before eating and shooting. Ideally you want a BG below about 150 but usually that takes time. A BG of 300-400 before eatings/shot is not unexpected for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat.
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Hi, Would you be willing to update your user control panel information and add some data like your name, cats name age and sex, Diagnosis date, insulin used, meter used, any complicating health issues your cat may have.

It will help us to help you better.
 
We usually recommend 4 tests a day - to keep your cat safe and to know how well the dose is working. And especially important if your goal is remission (achievable by 84% cats)!

So..
- ALWAYS before the shot - you dont want to shoot when Ted is too low - which in your case, as a newbie, is 200 for now. Come on here if you see a number under 200 and we will advise.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot if/when schedule allows
- before bed - 2-3 hours after PM shot to know what nighttime plans are. If this number is same as, or less than PMPS, you may want to set your alarm for a mid night cycle test as it usually means an active cycle

Then its a good idea (esp if you want more help from us) to set up a spreadsheet to track his progress and share it with us and possibly your vet:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207.Let us know if you need help with this.

Wendy
 
Thanks for all the information every body but it looks like Ted will be going to the vets for his blood work. I work 10 hr days 5 days a week so there is no way i will be able to do this. Thanks for all the help. You have a great crew here.
 
Please always test before you shoot to make sure it is safe.

Mid-cycle tests can be done on days off.
 
Its all when schedule allows. I would always get a preshot test, and a before bed if you can. Otherwise like BJ said, weekends are always good. Save you money going to the vet and gives you much more accurate BG info.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top