Dental helped but no big change for Robbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
Robbie came thru his dental work very well. With 2 teeth extracted and one worked on for minor infection he wasn't himself totally for a couple of days but he's back to his old self now and seems really better than before - I realize how long this guy must have been feeling shity - he's much better in many ways. HIs numbers are down a TAD - nothing drastic but instead of 380's at pmps we see some 290's and 330's amps is often 290's low 300's. All his blood work came back perfect - kidneys,liver, thyroid and his BG was 250. the Vet said that he was a champ under anesthesia - no breathing issues at all from the asthma even though they had to keep him under longer when they discovered the situation was worse than expected. He still seems to be drooling some and he drops food when he eats - think he's not used to the missing teeth.
The small bit of gum they sent to the lab came back fine - full of infection but no sign of a tumor or cancer or anything like that Thank God.
I'm still cautious about the numbers and what to shoot as he continues to feel better just in case something changes but no miracle remission here - he's still peeing large amounts most of the time and drinking lots of water - even threw me a 465 the other night but I suspect he snuck in and got some of Roxie's food when my husband wasn't looking.
Still no time to update the SS but I've got all the data - really want to see it plugged into the sheets myself - I'm hoping over thanksgiving when I have some time off maybe...
Cheers all hope everyone is doing wonderfully - not a lot of time to read the rest of the forum I'm sorry to say.
 
"WE DECIDED" - no, anyone can post in any forum they wish. Ideally, the person posting will say if they have no experience with the particular insulin but just general insulin dosing experience.

If you know someone doesn't have this experience, It would be much better if you take the tack the some others did and be nice about saying, ok that's fine, but this is why we suggested this.

Thank you,
Rebecca

Gail, I thought we decided since you have no experience with ProZinc or PZI, you wouldn't be giving dosing advice? Seems like the best plan to us.

Ellen, it is discouraging he didn't react better with the dental. I like the lower ps but of course even lower would be better. What kind of midcycle numbers are you seeing? I know we have talked about high dose conditions before. I am thinking you didn't see any of the "usual" patterns?
 
Hi Ellen,
The longer it goes on, the more overwhelming updating the SS gets to be. How about if you just plug the last couple weeks in and do the rest when you have nothing else to do? That way the pile stops growing? The dental does seem to have helped some, if you're seeing PS numbers 100 points lower? You didn't mention the nadir numbers. Any better?

Gayle,
Robbie is sort of an "interesting case". He went up to I think 6u the first time he was diagnosed, then was OTJ for a while. And the data isn't there, but in following Ellen and Robbie, what she has found is that any dose above 5u, even a fat 5u, makes his numbers go seriously wonky. I also think he's been tested for multiple "other conditions", but not sure if "high dose" conditions are a part of that list. He's had lots of digestive problems that have also caused his numbers to be screwy.

It's probably because you haven't been watching along for the whole storyline, but Robbie doesn't seem to be a case of "he just needs more insulin". Ellen's got a really full plate with Robbie, and with life outside of feline diabetes. I don't think TID is an option either. We've covered most of that ground. Oh, and she just lived through the Hurricane Sandy nightmare as well.

Looking at data from August might lead you to believe he needs a dose increase, but it's not quite that simple. Especially since it's an insulin you've never used.

Carl
 
Gayle,
You're welcome. And maybe Robbie will turn out to test positive at some point for a high dose condition like Acro. Maybe he's become more resistant to insulin.

This forum isn't "closed". It's just when you qualify yourself every time you post here with "not knowing much about your insulin" or "I've never used PZI so can't help on dose".... well, then you can't just turn around and suggest increasing or decreasing, can you?

Look, I've never used any of the L insulins either. And when I "meet" somebody in Health that is using one, I always say that I have no first hand knowledge, and ask for somebody from TR to stop by and take a look. However, I have gone through the trouble of reading the protocols, and spend a lot of time asking questions from the most experienced L users, so that I can at least feel comfortable advising on dose per the protocol. There's nothing wrong with advising on dose in PZI, even if you personally never used it. As long as you are familiar with how it works. But first disqualifying yourself, and then dropping advice anyway? That's what people here have an issue with. I'm sure you know lots of stuff about things I know nothing about, like acrocats for instance. And you can look at an acro spreadsheet and make sense out of it. I can't. But I wouldn't go into the Acro forum, tell them I have no knowledge to base advice on, and then give them advice. I'd expect the regular posters in Acro to take offense at that.

Carl
 
Gayle,

I'd like to respectfully point out that you have turned Carl's words around. You didn't come here asking questions about Prozinc and was treated disrespectfully, you came here and gave dosing advise about an insulin that you have never used. Carl's point, I believe, is that if he went into the Acro ISG and started giving advise it wouldn't be welcome and he would be asked to stop.

I've re-read this thread and can't see anywhere in it where you were treated disrespectfully.

Please, lets stop hyjacking Ellen & Robbie's thread, she has enough on her plate right now.

Robin
 
Well, it seems our case has caused a bit of a stir here - sorry gang. I tried sneaking Robbie up to 6 u's and when I did he'd go very low (60's) mid cycle and than either bounce and be in the 400's at pmps or still be really low and I'd have to adjust the dose and it was just a nightmare. I truly do not believe he is insulin resistant in any way - neither do the 2 vets he's seen in the last 4 months - we had all hoped the tooth issue would be something that would make a bigger change and my regular vet who feels the infection was extreme enough that he might still be effected by it says he's not giving up on that yet. Robbie was given a shot of antibiotics that lasts about 10 days so that is up today - so now he's NOT got anything in his system treating him for infection and hopefully it is all cleared up. So we'll see how it goes.
Good idea about the SS Carl - I'll see if I can start on that this weekend just get a couple of weeks PRE dental and than the week POST dental up maybe.
Things have improved for Robbie so much since getting the constipation issue cleared up - he's more lively, seems happier for sure. He plays with Ginger more now since the dental work too - all in all considering that this cat has Asthma, Mega colon, arthritis and diabetes he's doing DAMN well. He's just the MOST loving boy too - more and more - some of is annoying antics have gotten less too -- he's not trying to knock the lamp over as often, not walking around crying as much - I'm feeling horrible but thinking some of that acting out was that he was in pain from the teeth. I'll never know but that's my guess. He's also not hiding under the bed like he had been - which I was blaming on the wonky BG numbers.
Thanks for all the input -
 
Great to hear that he's feeling and acting better. It's always a relief when they start acting like their old selves again.

That antibiotic shot was probably Covenia which is usually used for skin issues and can have side effects so I think I would ask about getting and trying a different antibiotic to make sure you knock out the infection for good. Then you can see what his real bg's are now.

Scritches to Robbie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top