Dental cleanings and diabetic considerations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SantaCruzSPCA

Member Since 2017
Our next mission for Rusty (now that we've got the ball rolling on diet and insulin dosage), is getting him a dental cleaning. His teeth are pretty bad and must be the source of some kind of discomfort. I also know that his dental health can play a role in glucose levels and cause a slew of other health problems. I've had tons of experience coordinating dental procedures on healthy animals but never with one whose body can be thrown out of whack at the touch of a button.

I've read through the forum and while I found some links to general info on how dentals work and their importance, I didn't find any info on the affects on diabetic cats and the special considerations when it comes to how anesthesia, pain medication, antibiotics, fluids, and all the other things associated with a dental will/can affect a diabetic cat.

We plan to do a full blood panel prior to his appointment, not same day. It will be the first one that I've seen so if it turns out okay, we will probably have the dental done within a few days of the bloodwork. Any thoughts of how to properly prepare before and after a procedure like this? How does the fasting before surgery work for a diabetic? When he comes home and most likely won't want to eat? I want to get together a game plan. :)
 
Hi!
My cat just had dental yesterday.

Here is the protocol I was told to do:
No insulin morning of
My vet allowed me to feed him his normal PM food (he gets his last snack at 2am)
She said he can have water

Other than that, I think its normal feline dental procedures.

The glucose levels may be different for a bit, so youll just want to test kitty.
 
I see that green 79 on your SS at +3. Are you using the AlphaTrak pet meter? Do you have any other BG data since then? The "getting too low" BG on a pet meter is 68. It's 50 on a human meter. You might need to reduce the dose tonight if other tests show low values.
 
We are using the Alpha Trak. I just did another test and it was up in the yellow. At this point, I have no idea where his nadir is, lol. However, I think by tonight his numbers will probably be at least up in the pink. But we will for sure test.
 
Last edited:
no advice just a fyi-
my fd kitty had a dental and something in the anesthesia (I think) kept his numbers pretty low--
I skipped 3 shots I think--I was exhausted too tho because I had 2 seniors done same day.
Good Luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top