Decrease Lantus????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
yay, this morning, after 4 hours fasting, Martha's BG checked out at 194--! :smile:
That was after 4 hours of fasting, now she is eating canned, and then will get her 2 units lantus. I don't think I'm ready to start the Below-200 yet. I would be glad to decrease vet's prescribe 2 units down to 1 unit.
would this be a good thing?
 
My apologies - I've been told you only just started testing and don't have much data yet, so I'm putting a strikethrough on what I've written.

The folks currently using Lantus have been giving you good advice - they've been there, done that ... and seen what happens to folks who don't have enought data to give the insulin safely.

I do mean safely. There have been new members of this board who didn't find out how to shoot safely and have lost their beloved companions. Please don't become one of them.

A note on meter accuracy: the FDA allows them to read within 20% of the true value.
This means that:
test = low to high range
200 = 160 - 240
190 = 152 - 228
180 = 144 - 216


Have you got a spreadsheet of data yet? If yes, please share! We need to see the data.
Have you been testing daily before every shot and during the mid-cycle nadirs?

If you've been shooting for several weeks, are religiously testing before shots AND have gotten mid-cycle shots consistently to know how low she is going, we need to see the data to give you advice.

Both Lantus forums have information on how it works and how to use it, including dose adjustment. You should not adjust the dose unless you have regular mid-cycle tests available to know how low she goes. If she goes down under 50, she may earn a dose decrease ... but only if you have the data to support it.
 
BJM, Do you see me doing something wrong? Shooting wrong? I most certainly don't want to harm Martha in any way.
 
I don't think BJ sees anything wrong. Her comment was written several days ago when you were thinking about shooting 2u per your vet's advice. That day, you dropped down to 1u, and since then, Martha's numbers have been very, very, nice!

You're doing a fantastic job with this!
If at all possible, you can try to get some numbers in the middle of the cycle (like maybe on a weekend when you can be home to test? Those numbers are the key to figuring out what this dose is doing over the course of a 12 hour cycle. They will tell you if the dose needs to be adjusted up or down, or left the same.


Carl
 
I really don't see the need to scare the you know what out of people with such harshness, especially new members who are seeking help. All of us have had to learn how to use Lantus or any other medications for that matter with our kitties. Just because I now have a base of knowledge, I don't need to boast in confusing terms to others to make myself feel better.

Judy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top