Hi Everyone!
I will be going out of town and have a pet sitter lined up to give Gus injections. Gus is at 2U Lantus b.i.d. and has been fine at this dose for 2 weeks. However, he had a very low BG AMPS yesterday (79 AMPS), so I skipped his morning shot. His BG came up by +6 to 197, so everything was worked out.
My pet sitter is fine with driving to my place twice daily for injections and feeding, but is uncomfortable testing Gus, particularly as he can be mean if he is hungry. Since, my pet sitter is doing me a favor, I don't feel that I can really insist on testing.
Should I have my pet sitter decrease the dose to 1U Lantus for safety reasons, with the idea that it is better to have higher BGs for 5 days than to risk a hypo incident?
Thanks!
Liz
I will be going out of town and have a pet sitter lined up to give Gus injections. Gus is at 2U Lantus b.i.d. and has been fine at this dose for 2 weeks. However, he had a very low BG AMPS yesterday (79 AMPS), so I skipped his morning shot. His BG came up by +6 to 197, so everything was worked out.
My pet sitter is fine with driving to my place twice daily for injections and feeding, but is uncomfortable testing Gus, particularly as he can be mean if he is hungry. Since, my pet sitter is doing me a favor, I don't feel that I can really insist on testing.
Should I have my pet sitter decrease the dose to 1U Lantus for safety reasons, with the idea that it is better to have higher BGs for 5 days than to risk a hypo incident?
Thanks!
Liz