Decided to do a side by side of meters

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Polgeria, Sep 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Since I'm going to be switching over within the day to the Reli-on, I figured I should do a side by side to compare, and I was quite surprised by the results. My Accu-chek gave me 105, the Reli-on gave me 77....same blood droplet. Now I'm really confused.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Allison,

    Glucometer readings are accurate to within +/- 20% of the 'true' BG level. Even if you did two separate tests using the same meter to test the same blood drop, odds are the readings would be different.

    How's Mouse doing? And how's your own recovery progressing?


    Mogs
    .
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    One could be 20% high, the other 20% low. Pick one and don’t compare is my advice. Remember we are looking for trends and to keep kitty safe. The only times I compared was if I got a very low test or one that just didn’t fit with the rest of the tests that day. Just my $0.2 fwiw!
     
  4. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Agreed. The other day I did 2 tests back to back and one was 192 the second 180. This is with the same blood sample and meter. You’ll never get a match and it will just create anxiety for you.
     
  5. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    My big concern was the sheer difference in the numbers. Since I'm going to be switching to the Reli-on I wanted to make sure the difference wasn't going to be too dramatic... That's a pretty dramatic difference, but I reached out to Walmart for their control solution to make sure I don't have faulty strips. I tested with my Alphatrack control solution and it was closer to the same numbers.

    I get what you all are saying about the 20% difference, but I don't understand how much of a difference that could mean, can someone put that into normal numbers for me? I can't grasp percentages
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I cant interpret numbers but *maybe*think of it like this. The difference from buying a Cadillac and a Volkswagen. They both get you where you need to go, but both are built different. Does that make sense? o_O
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Your Accucheck number was 105. The 105 with the meter variance gives you a range of 95 to 115.

    The Relion was 77. The 77 give you a range of 69 to 85.

    So, if you look at the low from the Accucheck (95) vs the high end of the range from the Relion (85) there's really very little difference.

    With any measurement -- whether it's a thermometer, blood pressure, humidity, polling data, speed of your car, etc. -- there's what's referred to as a standard error of measurement. That's what gives you the plus or minus number. The "number" is actually the mid-point of a range that takes the variability into account. The inherent "error" is a result of taking an infinite number of tests and getting different results that vary within a particular range. We tend to treat the measured numbers as set in granite -- they're not.
     
  8. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Thank you!!! That helps so much
    :bighug:
     
  9. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
     
  10. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oops. My bad. I was using 10% - thanks for the catch.
     
  11. Sue & Emma

    Sue & Emma Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Wow, I just posted about the same thing today. First AMPS was a whopping 450. I was so surprised I used the same droplet, same AT tester and viola! new number is 485! Oh my goodness! So I too learned about the 20% give or take. ;)
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  12. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Mouse had some weird numbers this morning, but otherwise, she's doing awesome. She's currently being a kitten right now again, and breaking her toy. She's also decided she wants to walk on a leash all of a sudden, and has had some fun playing in our garden

    My recovery is also going well. I just started PT for my shoulder, and am starting to get on a normal sleep schedule.
     
  13. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    So glad I'm not the only one
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @Polgeria -

    I'm very glad to hear you're both doing better, Allison. :)

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  15. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Her pre shot this morning on the Reli-on was 71...if I hadn't done the side by side last night, that'd have me freaking out. But thanks to my questions yesterday, I'm only sorta kinda freaking out....yeah....I still don't know if I should shoot her. I'm off to the Lantus forum, lol
     
  16. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    It’s a bigger gap obviously with higher numbers, but the difference you got there was actually less than 10% so that’s pretty good!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  17. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    I’d be nervous to shoot with a 71. Let us know what they say!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    We decided to shoot. She's holding steady around 60, we're at +3:30 right now. She usually hits nadir at +4. I've been napping between tests, but she's been alert when I tested, and for the first hour she was bouncy and playing.
     
  19. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    You’re following TR so that makes sense :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page