December 14, 2022 Holly & Cougar - New member - Changing Insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly P.

Member Since 2020
Cougar was diagnosed May 2021 and has been on Vetsulin. He has Pemphigus and is on 2.5mg Predneslone ever-other-day. Since he had a hypo event this past summer, I always test before giving insulin. Judging by his numbers, I think he'd do better on a different insulin. His vet appointment is Dec. 26 and while I know my vet will be open to switching, I would sure appreciate information on where people in Portland, Oregon get their insulin since my vet is very leery about mail order and not sure how the insulin was stored. It's also suggested I switch from AlphTrax to ReliOn, but when searching for those, there were different types meters and strips...any suggestions would really be appreciated!
 
I would get "generic" glargine. Glargine is the chemical name for the brandname Lantus. Use GoodRx coupon and get a carton of 5, 3 ml pen. YOu have to select the generic glargine and the carton in the drop down menu boxes since the default seems to real Lantus vials. The price varies by pharmacy.
and the prices frequently change.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1&sort_type=popularity
GoodRx-Gen-Glar.png


Regarding meter, get a Walmart Relion Premier and extra Premier strips. Strips are not interchangeable between to only Relion Prime and Relion Premier. The Premier meter comes in four models (each uses same strips, There is the Classic which is the least expensive @$9, when the Blu download BG to your phone for about $19, there is the Compact which is also about $19 which is smaller than the Classic and last there is the Voice that speaks the BG back which is about $14. Get the meter and strips from Walmart, not from Amazon since there is a large markup to get from Amazon.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103
 

Attachments

  • GoodRx-Gen-Glar.png
    GoodRx-Gen-Glar.png
    232.2 KB · Views: 301
Hi and welcome Holly and Cougar.
I can’t see your SS. You may need to press share and save.
I agree glargine (Lantus) is a very good insulin for cats. Also swapping from a pet meter to a human meter such as the ReliOn meter is fine. Our dosing methods are based on the human meters.
Im sending you a link HELP US HELP YOU which has information about the spreadsheet, signature and hypo kit
 
Relion premier classic meter 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

Test strips 17.88 for 100 test strips
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

if you do get lantus it's very expensive in the US
You can have the vet write the script for generic lantus ,many members use it
Here is some info
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

You will also need to buy U-100 syringes with half unit markings if you switch to generic lantus

You can also get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store
:




upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508



49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
The price for generic/biosimilar Lantus/glargine is very close to the price that Mark's Marine Pharmacy charges. Many of the people here order from Mark's which is in Canada. There's always going to be some question about mail order of a liquid especially when shipped during winter months. The availability of a biosimilar has been very helpful as Larry noted.

The other option is a pet specific insulin -- Prozinc. Both Lantus/glargine and Prozinc are very good insulins for cats. Prozinc would be available through your vet or Chewy's.
 
Hi and welcome Holly and Cougar.
I can’t see your SS. You may need to press share and save.
I agree glargine (Lantus) is a very good insulin for cats. Also swapping from a pet meter to a human meter such as the ReliOn meter is fine. Our dosing methods are based on the human meters.
Im sending you a link HELP US HELP YOU which has information about the spreadsheet, signature and hypo kit
 
I would get "generic" glargine. Glargine is the chemical name for the brandname Lantus. Use GoodRx coupon and get a carton of 5, 3 ml pen. YOu have to select the generic glargine and the carton in the drop down menu boxes since the default seems to real Lantus vials. The price varies by pharmacy.
and the prices frequently change.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1&sort_type=popularity
View attachment 65867

Regarding meter, get a Walmart Relion Premier and extra Premier strips. Strips are not interchangeable between to only Relion Prime and Relion Premier. The Premier meter comes in four models (each uses same strips, There is the Classic which is the least expensive @$9, when the Blu download BG to your phone for about $19, there is the Compact which is also about $19 which is smaller than the Classic and last there is the Voice that speaks the BG back which is about $14. Get the meter and strips from Walmart, not from Amazon since there is a large markup to get from Amazon.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103
Thank you! I was calling different pharmacies, not really knowing what I was looking for and the insulin was very expensive!!! Found the meter and testing strips on Walmart. Where do you get syringes?
 
Relion premier classic meter 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

Test strips 17.88 for 100 test strips
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

if you do get lantus it's very expensive in the US
You can have the vet write the script for generic lantus ,many members use it
Here is some info
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

You will also need to buy U-100 syringes with half unit markings if you switch to generic lantus

You can also get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store
:




upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508



49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
Thank you for so much information and pictures! It makes this switch feel less overwhelming!
 
You want to look for:

  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
It will be quickest to get syringes at Walmart or any pharmacy. The trickier part is to make sure they have half unit markings. You can also order syringes online. ADW is a good resource.
 
Curious. Did you call the Walmart pharmacy and speak to someone there? They’re kept behind the counter so you wouldn’t see them at all unless you ask for them
 
I’m trying to share this with as many people as possible. My vet switched us to Lantus and after scouring the Internet, I’m now only paying $35 a month for his 10ml vile. Obviously needles and BG testing equipment is all separate but the insulin itself would’ve been such a huge hit if I had to pay full price. I just want to make sure as many people as possible have access to this information because originally my vet was hesitant to switch us off of Vetsulin because he said it was going to be so expensive (Even though my cat was responding horribly). I printed up a version of this card to give to my vet so he can give it to other patients including the website where you can get your own ID number. I did try three different pharmacies before somebody finally accepted the coupon card but in the end, now I know I really can get it for $35. I just wanted to make sure I really had insulin in hand for the price it said before I started broadcasting this to other people getting their hopes up.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-30_10-23-42.png
    upload_2022-12-30_10-23-42.png
    124.6 KB · Views: 120
I’m trying to share this with as many people as possible. My vet switched us to Lantus and after scouring the Internet, I’m now only paying $35 a month for his 10ml vile. Obviously needles and BG testing equipment is all separate but the insulin itself would’ve been such a huge hit if I had to pay full price. I just want to make sure as many people as possible have access to this information because originally my vet was hesitant to switch us off of Vetsulin because he said it was going to be so expensive (Even though my cat was responding horribly). I printed up a version of this card to give to my vet so he can give it to other patients including the website where you can get your own ID number. I did try three different pharmacies before somebody finally accepted the coupon card but in the end, now I know I really can get it for $35. I just wanted to make sure I really had insulin in hand for the price it said before I started broadcasting this to other people getting their hopes up.
If you keep the insulin in the refrigerator it should be good until it's gone. If you look at it & it's cloudy & or has floaties in it then it's no good. I had a vial of the glargine insulin which is a bio similar of Lantus & it lasted for 7 months.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top