Dec 28 Meme amps 112 +2 67 +3 79, pmps 114 +3 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

rawia

Member Since 2017
Good day all,

Meme decided t give me blue again this cycle :cat::cat:, before she used to drop low at noon and now she changed to dropping low at morninig :).

How could i know if her cracked teeth is infected or something!! last visit the vet told me that the gum changed but we can wait and she will decide at next visit after 10 days.

Also she insist that i do a curve with no insulin given because she wants to see how stable is she before she do the tooth extraction!!! Is it ok to skip shot at curve day??
 
See....just a cycle that she was up...she looks great today!

They can’t usually tell without anesthesia and digital X-rays unless there is obvious infection around the tooth.

It’s ok to skip a shot as your vet requests but US vets don’t worry about giving anesthesia and doing extractions on a cat as well regulated as Meme is. Why deprive a cat of insulin when she’s doing fine and isn’t going to have anesthesia right then (many still get insulin on dental days depending on their BG). She should be able to tell that Meme is really stable on a tiny dose of insulin.

She might want you to skip on dental day and I have seen many vets do that. Even with my Gracie, my board certified anesthesiologist had me skip when her AMPS was 80.
 
See....just a cycle that she was up...she looks great today!

They can’t usually tell without anesthesia and digital X-rays unless there is obvious infection around the tooth.

It’s ok to skip a shot as your vet requests but US vets don’t worry about giving anesthesia and doing extractions on a cat as well regulated as Meme is. Why deprive a cat of insulin when she’s doing fine and isn’t going to have anesthesia right then (many still get insulin on dental days depending on their BG). She should be able to tell that Meme is really stable on a tiny dose of insulin.

She might want you to skip on dental day and I have seen many vets do that. Even with my Gracie, my board certified anesthesiologist had me skip when her AMPS was 80.
Yes i read that many members here do dental with no problem bit i do not know why she said that, i will skip it only at the same day of her peocedure and will do the curve as she told me because i do not want to wait for this teeth to get infected as i finally convinced her to do dental cleaning and extraction at sane time, she said it is not that rush but i know it can gets worse any time because it is exposed and the gum is more red than before around the teeth. And yes as you said i remember that she told me she needs to take deep look after anesthesia if anything more is there.

I will do what she wants just to get this done ASAP.
 
My vet had me skip insulin the morning of the dental and it was up to me that night. He wasn’t eating well so I gave a BCS dose that night. I hope this is all that’s needed for an OTJ trial to start. Don’t get discouraged if the dental leads to higher numbers for as long as a week. It doesn’t always but it did for Max.
 
I am sure it will be the same for Meme, she is very sinsitive to any pain even a little hairball or vomiting can make the number very high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top