Dec 24 Sammy AMPS 169

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110521

Hi folks, I decided today that i had better move over here to Relaxed rather than Tight, since I was not completely following the Tight protocol and I think I annoyed a few people there. Plus they are not happy with me not getting up and testing throughout the night.

My Samantha (Sammy) had gotten into a pattern of sliding down to nice numbers, only to bounce way up into the reds, then back down again a cycle or two later. Try (and test) as i might, I was unable to discern a real nadir, which was getting really frustrating on the Tight protocol. Sammy's pancreas is sputtering to life, imho, so I was concerned about her getting really low on me at some time when I might have my back turned (or dare I say when I was sleeping?).

I have also had to be away from the house a lot the last week or so, and was really worried. Finally, I just went with my gut and reduced her dose to .25 even though she did not meet the strict conditions to earn that reduction. It was just safer, and besides which, I just have this feeling that i need to support but not interfere with her recovery. She is also grooming herself and her big brother a lot more now that she feels better, which is causing lots of puking up of fur, so she might not retain as many calories as she normally would either.

Sammy has rewarded me with lots of nice blues. I am encouraged and shall hold steady. Like they say, each cat is different (ECID) and I know my Sammy better than anyone else does.

OT : by the way, if you have pets who bless your carpets by "urping" on them like mine do, I encourage you to think about getting a Spot steam cleaner like this one : http://www.bissell.com/spotbot-pet-deep-cleaner/

One of the best little investments I have made in years. Just set it over the spot and press Start. Walk away, it does its thing all by itself and beeps about 4 minutes later to signal it is done. Lightweight, small, easy to store (mine lives in the bottom of my bedroom closet) its just the best thing!
 
Re: Dec 24 Sammy AMPS

Welcome to the Relaxed Forum. I came over from tight for the same reasons - in fact, I could not have written it better. There will be less people watching your sugar dance but there is much experience and knowledge all over this forum.

I cant look at your ss now but it would be helpful if you put his amps number in the condo topic.

I look forward to following Sammy's condos.

Robin
 
Re: Dec 24 Sammy AMPS

RobinCot said:
Welcome to the Relaxed Forum. I came over from tight for the same reasons - in fact, I could not have written it better. There will be less people watching your sugar dance but there is much experience and knowledge all over this forum.

I cant look at your ss now but it would be helpful if you put his amps number in the condo topic.

I look forward to following Sammy's condos.

Robin


Thanks Robin. I wrote that post with the intention of not submitting it until after her AMPS, but goofed up. Will post Sammy's (female - Samantha) AMPS # in a few minutes. I am in the Pacific time zone, and we do shots at 8am and pm, so its almost time for that test.
 
Welcome to our little corner of the world.

You will find us a lot more well...Relaxed here. :lol:

Sammy is looking much better since you trusted your gut and took her down in dose.

I'm a firm believer than sometimes less is more when dealing with a hormone like insulin. Even if all lowering dose is stop the pendulum swings so they can get use to lower numbers first and the adjust upwards to bring the overall curve down.

Since I'm notoriously famous for not updating my own spreadsheets...I can't say my spreadsheets speak for my experience with feline diabetes :roll:

But currently I have 3 sugarcats..Maxwell OTJ 3+years, Autumn who just blew an OTJ after 3 days and is still on a drop of insulin as needed and just took in Casey who when I got him was on 11u bid, eating dry and being shot blind. Today he is happily eating canned and down to 1u bid.

So sugarcats I know...few of my civies however are complete mysteries. :razz: lol

Oh yeah besides the 3 sugars there are also 13 civies, a 97lb drooler and a DH. rofl

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Welcome Linda and Sammy! Max just started on Lantus a week and half ago, so I don't have a lot of experience yet. I started with the "relaxed" forum because I work pretty far from where I live and I'm not able to test as much as I would like. The folks on this forum have been really helpful and encouraging.
 
Welcome!

I come over here occasionally, for although Gracie is on Prozinc, my Gone Ahead (GA) Spitzer was on Lantus for a while.

I, too, didn't quite fit the TR forum with a sleep disorder ... and Spitzer didn't follow the norms, so TR didn't work for him. I had to step outside the box to try to help him ... and got blasted for doing something no one they knew had tried. Well, some one had to try something, and I did, cautiously and testing all the way. It was starting to get some control when he threw a blood clot that caused me to let him go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top