Dec 24, Felix, AMPS=313, +2=328, +8.5=225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
yesterday

Meowy Kissmouse!:cat:

Felix isn't working his dose increase, yet anyway. But he's in my lap purring, the house smells like wassail, and snowflakes are swirling outside the window, so all is well.
 
I hope he gets with it soon.

Remember that NDW can occur within the first 2-3 days but only lasts 24 hours. Let’s hope we see some better numbers soon.

It’s difficult to advise you since I don’t know what your definition of “modified SLGS” is but I hate to see a kitty that has had DKA stay in pink and yellow for more than six cycles.

Merry Christmas!
 
Thanks, Marje. I think you mean don't hold this dose more than six cycles? Or do you mean bump up another .25 now since his response to the increase has been negligible? Thanks also for the summary of NDW; I need to put that in my notes!

My definition of "modified SLGS" is a moving target depending on what he's doing and the extent to which I can interpret it. Right now I'd say his action number is 60 (a little more buffer than TR's 50). But I don't see the same patterns the last week or two--since he hasn't gone low, I haven't been so vigilant, but I don't feel as confident about catching his lows right now if he does start throwing them.
 
Thanks, Marje. I think you mean don't hold this dose more than six cycles? Or do you mean bump up another .25 now since his response to the increase has been negligible? Thanks also for the summary of NDW; I need to put that in my notes!

My definition of "modified SLGS" is a moving target depending on what he's doing and the extent to which I can interpret it. Right now I'd say his action number is 60 (a little more buffer than TR's 50). But I don't see the same patterns the last week or two--since he hasn't gone low, I haven't been so vigilant, but I don't feel as confident about catching his lows right now if he does start throwing them.
I think in order to modify SLGS, you really need to have a grasp of his onset, nadir, and duration. Does he get any carryover or overlap? How does he respond to all the different foods you give him and is he consistent in doing so? Do you have a specific reason why you modified SLGS for 60 to be his reduction number instead of 90? If he’s still eating dry food, it’s just not recommended to change that reduction point; it’s that way as a built in safety for feeding dry.

I have to admit it’s hard for me when I see a CG, doing SLGS, hold a dose for a week where the cat is in high numbers when the cat has had DKA. That’s where I see it more important that you modify than at the other end. I’ve helped a few people doing SLGS fast-track a cat that was in all red and black until we started seeing pink and yellow and then they went back to SLGS. Those cats can really be in danger of building glucose toxicity if they spend a week in black and red with no movement.

It is your decision for what your schedule is as to whether you leave him in pink and yellow numbers for a week. My point was to reassess him after a full six cycles and see where he is. If he’s seen absolutely no downward momentum or trend and you are there to test, you might want to scootch the dose up by 0.25u to get him back closer to renal threshold territory. Then you can go back to holding the dose for a week to see if he sees more blue.

Does that make sense?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top