? Dec 23 Meme AMPS 162, +6 262 (AT), start to panic need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

rawia

Member Since 2017
will after this vomitting the day before yesterday her numbers are not going down, she did not reach that number ever for a while even when she stressed after vet visit. She is acting just fine , eating playing around and every thing, what is happining?? Should i take her to vet to check for anything, i really start to panic.

I did not entered put yesterday numbers on SS because she was not eating well after vomiting and usual and i did not do many tests but seems insulin do nothing??
 
I put the numers on SS so you can take better look, everything happened after her 81 morning PS as you see she was 136 just to hours before then dropped to 81 which she never did then vomit the end of the day
 
Last edited:
She will come back down. Sorry about the vomit. Glad she is feeling good though. :bighug:

Hopefully someone with dosing experience will come along and offer some advise.
 
Couple thoughts: could always be one of those brief blips they get when they are feeling a bit "off", whether due to something temporary (tummy upset, constipation) or something requiring vet attention (dental problems, an infection). If she seems to be feeling good otherwise, it probably isn't anything serious, but if the high numbers continue for a few days it might be good to get her checked out again, just to be sure there isn't something going on.

Or... insulin needs do go up and down sometimes, and there isn't always an identifiable reason, it's just how the healing process goes. She's been doing well on the drop (other than those stubborn blue preshots), but if these numbers keep climbing and you start getting days like this more regularly, you may have to go up the dosing ladder for a little longer to give her a bit of a boost. I would probably wait a couple days before doing that, because it's just one number in the yellows so far.

It'll be OK-- she's doing great overall! And don't forget to pay attention to this:

She is acting just fine , eating playing around and every thing, what is happining??

Our cats are more than their numbers, and it seems like MeMe at least thinks she's feeling pretty good!
 
Couple thoughts: could always be one of those brief blips they get when they are feeling a bit "off", whether due to something temporary (tummy upset, constipation) or something requiring vet attention (dental problems, an infection). If she seems to be feeling good otherwise, it probably isn't anything serious, but if the high numbers continue for a few days it might be good to get her checked out again, just to be sure there isn't something going on.

Or... insulin needs do go up and down sometimes, and there isn't always an identifiable reason, it's just how the healing process goes. She's been doing well on the drop (other than those stubborn blue preshots), but if these numbers keep climbing and you start getting days like this more regularly, you may have to go up the dosing ladder for a little longer to give her a bit of a boost. I would probably wait a couple days before doing that, because it's just one number in the yellows so far.

It'll be OK-- she's doing great overall! And don't forget to pay attention to this:



Our cats are more than their numbers, and it seems like MeMe at least thinks she's feeling pretty good!
At the beginning it was ok for me because she always goes high after vomitting or upset stomach but usualy for one day not that much and that high. Me ve set an appointment for me on July 7 for dental ant tooth removing and full blood work ( she will be on vacation tell that day) , but i am worried that something else is happening.

So you suggest me to wait for few days before the vet is an option!!
 
You can take her in to the vet any time you are concerned, I'm just hopeful that she's going to come down all on her own very soon and so not need to see the vet at all. But if you're worried, by all means bring her in to get checked out!
 
I’m seeing inverted curves today’s a.m. cycle and it looks like tonight as well. Inverted curves can mean too little or too much insulin. I don’t put a ton of stock in them unless they are happening frequently.

I wouldn’t suggest you change the dose yet but I wouldn’t have increased her dose on 12/22 based on that preshot. Remember that we don’t dose on the PS; we dose on the nadir and her nadirs were fine. It’s possible she doesn’t need that extra insulin. Again, I’d give it six cycles and then we can see what she’s doing; you don’t want to dose hop and since you increased, give it a bit of time.
 
I’m seeing inverted curves today’s a.m. cycle and it looks like tonight as well. Inverted curves can mean too little or too much insulin. I don’t put a ton of stock in them unless they are happening frequently.

I wouldn’t suggest you change the dose yet but I wouldn’t have increased her dose on 12/22 based on that preshot. Remember that we don’t dose on the PS; we dose on the nadir and her nadirs were fine. It’s possible she doesn’t need that extra insulin. Again, I’d give it six cycles and then we can see what she’s doing; you don’t want to dose hop and since you increased, give it a bit of time.
You mean that happened because i increased her dose to 0.1?? I thought that will help:(

I just incresed it when her nubers start to go up not before!!

So you suggested that i hold the 0.1 or back to drop this morning?
 
You mean that happened because i increased her dose to 0.1?? I thought that will help:(

I just incresed it when her nubers start to go up not before!!

So you suggested that i hold the 0.1 or back to drop this morning?
It can potentially happen if they don’t need the increase and I would not have increased based on a preshot. I’d given her at least one, maybe two cycles to see if she’d settle back down after the vomiting.

I’m suggesting you hold the 0.1u dose for a total of six cycles and then reassess to see where she is. If she continues to have inverted cycles every time, we might want to rethink a lower dose. If the two cycles she was inverted do not occur again, then it’s unlikely the dose is too much. We will have to see what she does so don’t get impatient, ok? A lot of things can impact numbers and change patterns. On the chance that she does need more insulin, you don’t want to drop the dose back now.
 
It can potentially happen if they don’t need the increase and I would not have increased based on a preshot. I’d given her at least one, maybe two cycles to see if she’d settle back down after the vomiting.

I’m suggesting you hold the 0.1u dose for a total of six cycles and then reassess to see where she is. If she continues to have inverted cycles every time, we might want to rethink a lower dose. If the two cycles she was inverted do not occur again, then it’s unlikely the dose is too much. We will have to see what she does so don’t get impatient, ok? A lot of things can impact numbers and change patterns. On the chance that she does need more insulin, you don’t want to drop the dose back now.

Ok, thank you Marje and will do that.

I just hope it is only a dose matter or temporary things from upset stomach or vomitting and nothing else going on, because she usualy go high only for one day after hairballs or vomitting, will wait until her next appointment on July 7th for full blod work and dental and hope she will settle down before that time.
 
Ok, thank you Marje and will do that.

I just hope it is only a dose matter or temporary things from upset stomach or vomitting and nothing else going on, because she usualy go high only for one day after hairballs or vomitting, will wait until her next appointment on July 7th for full blod work and dental and hope she will settle down before that time.
I’ll be around the next few days over the holiday so when she’s got six cycles at this dose behind her, tag me and we can talk about it some more. Other experienced members might not be around but I will and can give you some thoughts based on how her SS looks then.
 
I’ll be around the next few days over the holiday so when she’s got six cycles at this dose behind her, tag me and we can talk about it some more. Other experienced members might not be around but I will and can give you some thoughts based on how her SS looks then.
I will do and thank you for all the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top