Info Daylight Savings Time Starts Sunday March 14th

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Wendy&Neko, Mar 7, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    [​IMG]

    This was written by Sienne and Gabby (GA) for those using Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir, but may be helpful to those using other insulins:
    For most of us in North America, it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    (Please bump until Sunday, March 14th)
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2021
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks, Dianne. You were abut 2 hours ahead of my posting the same announcement.

    Please keep this thread bumped to the top of the forum until next Saturday night (March 13).
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    :cat::cat:
     
  5. Howiesmom

    Howiesmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page