Daylight Savings Time - Reminder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Fall Back -- November 6th. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the shed. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00

Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 7:15
Friday AMPS at 7:15
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00

Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
post from Sienne in Lantus

I always forget when to start moving the shot time.
 
The "fall back" time change is an easy one to fix with split doses. Give 1/2 the regular dose at the regular time, say 7PM, the night OF the change, then the other half an hour later, which would be 8PM. Move your clocks back then, so 8PM becomes 7PM, so when 7AM rolls around it will have been 12 hours since the second half dose.

Easy peasy. This also is much better for those of us who work because you're not having to be late for work in order to accomplish moving the shot time forward, in order to move it back. :roll:

Darn confusing, isn't it?
 
I had to stop and think about it. I had to every time 'cause it's a bit daunting to wrap your brain around. it seems illogical to move the shot time forward to move it back, but that's what you're doing. The Spring change is more difficult because you need to move the shot time backward to go forward! That is probably the one to do in the 15 minute increments, earlier each time. So that you move the time back from 7PM (regular shot time) to 6PM, then moving the clock forward turns 6PM in to 7PM. This is going backward to go forward.....

confused_cat

Are you with me?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top