Daylight Savings Time Ends - Nov. 2nd - Adjusting shot time

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
1761131927663.png

Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 2nd at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S. and Canada, this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for especially for Lantus & Lev users because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B(move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:15
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
  • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
Option D: (From Jill..., a former moderator)
"Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

Please keep this post bumped. Thank you!!
 

Attachments

  • 1761131884119.png
    1761131884119.png
    227 KB · Views: 33
I know I'm messing myself up but don't we fall behind....so 7 is now 6.....so if we do nothing it's an 11 hour cycle.....I cannot wrap my head around this.
 
Back
Top