Day One.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tori N Smokey

Member Since 2015
So I woke up in a panic during the night when I felt something unusually warm and wet by my foot. My 11 year old silver lion, Smokey, was sleeping at the end of the bed in his own urine. He didn't even notice his bladder functions hence why I was in a panic. I also had been noticing that he's been losing some weight in the past month or so, which didn't help my worrying mind either.
Luckily the vet office opens at 7:00 am.
First, they weighed him, my great lion only weighed 13 pounds, which is a 5 to 6 pound difference from his normal weight. No, my feline is not normally over weight, he is just a very large breed of cat (body measures close to 2 feet with an additional 2 feet for his tail).
Anyways. Secondly, they ran blood work and did a urine analysis and then we waited for the longest thirty minutes of our lives. The vet walks in the room and says, "So he's blood work isn't too scary, but you do have a diabetic cat.". I was honestly afraid he was going to have kidney failure or cancer. Now diabetes isn't a great result but it could have been worse and like she said, "It's manageable.".
She goes through the next steps and let's me know that my poor boy also have a urinary tract infection and a small yeast infection in his one ear. I literally feel like the worst parent in the world because I feel like I should have seen the signs sooner. She also recommends that he stays the night to get all the medicines initiated and to get his blood levels regulated between 100 - 300. I then ask a million other questions and also ask what his blood sugar level was. 642.. 642!
I reluctantly leave my little guy behind with the vet, who assures me he is in the best of hands, even though there is no place I'd rather he be then here at home in my arms.

It's going to be a long road ahead of us but I'm determined to save him at all costs. I hope by joining this group I can learn from my peers about managing a new lifestyle and coping with the ups/down of having a cat with feline diabetes.
 
What an awful time you've had of it, and poor Smokey. My Kali was diagnosed only a little over a month ago and I felt like an awful mom, too, and I've since read the same sentiments from others. Cats are good at hiding their ailments, and actually even for people with diabetes there aren't always physical symptoms that show up. I didn't know I had it until a routine blood test. So try not to beat yourself up about this. Lots of people here will help you. I hate having to leave my pets at the vet and I wish there was some comfort for you today and tonight. I'll be sending you good thoughts.--Nora and Kali.
 
Welcome! Sorry that you and your sweet Smokey have to be here. You'll find that we have a very successful protocol that includes a mild, long lasting insulin like Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc. We also feed wet low carb food (check out this website by a vet: www.catinfo.org) and test our cat's blood glucose levels at home.

Let us know how we can help.
 
Welcome! It's scary getting that diagnosis, I was taking my cat into the vet for asthma when I asked her to check why her back legs were looking funny. Turns out Snickers was diabetic. Her BG was almost 600. I don't know how to link the important stuff so hopefully someone comes along later (I am a complete idiot when it comes to computer stuff). I do know we recommend home testing. It is so important to home test. Most of us use a human bg meter. Also, if you are feeding dry, please stop the dry. A wet food diet is the very best. Most of us feed Fancy Feast classics. (I see some are answering as I am typing this so sorry for the repeat info).
 
Thank you for the kind words and support. It seems like this forum and only a few people have positive words to say on the matter. Most say if it were them that they'd put him down. It makes me so angry because he didn't choose to have this and other than being diagnosed, he acts completely fine except for the recent urination and weight loss. I have to do everything in my power to make him feel better again, I can't let him down and give up on him. It's like asking a mother to let her give up and euthanize her 11 yr old son. It's blasphemous to me to even entertain the IDEA of doing that.

So again thank you for the kind words, it really does ease my mind and let me know that this is possible solution to live with.

Could anyone tell me what the average day in the life of a diabetic cat owner is like?
 
It seems overwhelming at first but really does become a routine. You decide your schedule, planning the shots 12 hours apart. So you test, feed and then give the shot. On days you can, it is very helpful to get some tests midcycle in the 5/7 hours after the shot. Then do the same 12 hours later: test, feed and shoot. Every couple of weeks, get a curve, testing every 2/3 hours so you get a real clear idea of how the insulin is working.
 
Here is some additional information for you to read. Some of it is duplication from the above posts. Anyway, it may stir up some questions so you can ask your vet.

Good Reading: This is a must read. It is an excellent 18 page informative document that covers feline health and nutrition. Don't take short cuts and read it all. www.catinfo.org

Also read other postings and their spreadsheets. You will learn a lot more from others.

Home Testing: Here, we all home test. It is mandatory to understand how your kitty is reacting to the insulin and the dose. You will want to test before each shot and some additional test in between the 12 hour cycle. Another reason to home test is to keep your kitty safe. Find a place in your home where you will always perform the test and give lots of hugs before and after testing. There are many videos showing you how to test. Hometesting Links and TipsHere is a picture of where you test on your kitty. http://s106.photobucket.com/user/chupie_2006/media/testingear/sweetspot.jpg.html

Here is another good link on Home Testing:http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-home-test.htm

Meters: There are many meters. There is a pet meter called the Alpha Trak2 and human meters. Some use the pet meter because it is what the vets use so the numbers will match up. The meter and strips are expensive though. Most use human meters that can be purchased at any pharmacy. It typically reads a little lower than the pet meter but we have ways of compensating those lower numbers. Many use Walmart's brand, Relion Micro or Relion Confirm, because it only needs a tiny drop of blood. They cost around $15 and the strips are around 35 cents each.

Lancets: These are used to poke the ear to get blood. There are many different sizes (gauges). It is recommended when you are first starting out to use a 26-28 gauge. Also, it would be a good idea to pick up Neosporin WITH pain reliever to apply on the edge of the ears and don't forget to alternate ears.

Spreadsheets: Our spreadsheet instructions are here. If you look at the signatures of the members here, you will see a link to their kitty’s spreadsheets. We keep track of all our tests. This is basically a place to collect data and help you to determine patterns, doses, etc. It also aids those that may be helping you to better understand your kitty.

Food: There are many reasons why we are here but one is due to feeding dry cat food which is high in carbs. You will want to consider changing your food to wet, low carb food. It is recommended to feed food that is under 10% carbs. Here is a list of cat food to choose from food chartyou will note that the food with fish are lower in carbs however it is recommended that you only give fish once a week due to its mercury content. Many use Fancy Feast, 9 Lives, Friskies, etc. This list can also be found in www.catinfo.org If you are already giving insulin and you have not transitioned to wet, low carb cat food, be sure to test while you are transitioning. This is because by changing to low carb food, it could decrease your kitty’s number by 100 points or more. One last thing, many of us add water to the wet food so your kitty is getting plenty of water to flush out the toxins and to keep them hydrated.

Hypo Kit: Always good to be prepared for possible hypo events which means that your cat has reached dangerously low numbers. It can be fatal, hence, the importance of home testing and collecting data in a spreadsheet. In each of the Insulin Forums are stickie’s labeled Hypo Links. Here is one: How to Handle a Hypo. Please print and post on your refrigerator so everyone in your household is aware of hypo symptoms. You will want to create your hypo kit that would include and not limited to; extra testing strips, honey/karo/maple syrup, high carb food, medium carb food, vet information, etc.

Ketones: Diabetic cats are susceptible to diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). It is best to buy testing strips that will measure (if any) ketones in the urine. One brand is Ketostix which can be found at Walmart or any pharmacy. You will want to test periodically unless you continue to get high numbers, then it is suggested to test more frequently. Ketostix typically costs around $10.

Treats: It is always nice to have treats available for your kitty. Some use it after they have tested to reward. I like using Pure Bites. I have found it at Petsmart and other pet stores. It is freeze dried and the only ingredient is the meat i.e. chicken, duck, etc. If your cat likes it, then I would go to the dog section where it is cheaper than the cat package. It is bigger chunks but no problem in breaking it up. Another option is to use Bonita Flakes. There is a link here somewhere that has a list of low carb treats but I don't have it right now.

Injections: Most folks here use one of these main insulins; Lantus, Levemir and Prozinc. Two hours prior to your insulin shot, you will not want your kitty to eat. Then you will test and then feed. It is best for your kitty to eat a little before your shoot. I shoot while he is eating. The reason why you do not want your kitty to eat two hours prior to your test is because food elevates BG numbers. So you do not want to dose based on a food influenced number. Here is a link on how to give injections.http://www.felinediabetes.com/injections.htm

Note: Please check your insulins as there are some (the harsher ones like Humulin, Novolin, Vetsulin, etc.) that would be best to allow some time after your kitty has eaten before you shoot.

If you have any questions, please be sure to post in the Health Forum.
 
Hey Tori, I feel your pain ; we can all relate to the fateful day when our kitties got their DX. Take a deep breath and know you are in good hands here. This forum was a life saver for me and most peeps here. There is so much knowledge here (more than most vets know, sadly) You made the first big step in the right direction, finding this forum to help. So, like the others have said, low carb wet food is crucial for you to get Smokey's numbers down AND home testing. Very important to keep them safe. Our cats are really stressed when they are at the vets so by our testing at home gives a better understanding of what their real numbers are. Merlin, in post # 7 gave you a lot of good information. We are here to help, so ask away.
 
Smokey is beautiful! And please don't beat yourself up. I bet we've all had the "I should have seen..." moment in one way or the other. My first diabetic kitty was a big boy, and long-haired, and he wasn't really a pick-me-up kind of kitty, so once we found out what his weight loss actually was, and then the diabetic diagnosis, we felt heart-broken. Fortunately, for us that only lasted about 3 seconds, because our long-time vet (23 years at that point) literally walked into the room and said "Your boy is diabetic, but it is going to be ok. Here is your meter and let me show you how you are going to test him at home, and how to administer insulin. Really, he'll be fine". Honestly, if he hadn't been so forceful (not the right word...sounds negative...maybe confident? reassuring? matter-of-fact?), I think it could have worked out much differently because I would have had time to worry, question whether I was capable, felt helpless, etc. Instead I felt in control, and empowered.

So, Tori...Your boy is diabetic, but it is going to be ok. Folks have already given you good suggestions for meters, so while Smokey is at the vet, go get one, some strips and lancets, put rice in a sock and tie it at the top (microwave it to warm Smokey's ears before testing), and look at the food charts already suggested to adjust his food. There is plenty of information here on how to test and administer insulin. Really, he'll be fine. (Sorry Dr. Sullivan, I expanded your pep talk!)

If you get hung up on any part of it, that is why we are here :-)

Hugs to you and Smokey,
Sandi & Whisper & Brady (GA)
 
Hi Tori and Smokey, welcome! You are in the best place possible to get the info you need to help Smokey, everyone here is so helpful. And we get it when you say you'd never euthanise him just because of his diabetes diagnosis, as we all made the same choice for our sugarcats. Best wishes to you both :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top