Day 4: question about behavior

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Ripley's on 4th day of Lantus, and I've noticed unusual behavior twice now; uncertain if it's 'normal' under the newly-diagnosed circumstances or if I should be concerned:

About 1-2 hrs fter the very first Lantus injection she acted tired, but didn't sleep; wide-eyed gaze, laid down on her side, and began pulling her arm back & forth against her side (not fast twitching at all.) Her test showed hi numbers, so it wasn't hypo. Then the same reaction happened again this morning, about 2 hrs after injection (she was at 220, so again not too low).

Maybe it's a response to her body/organs adjusting to being on insulin and levels changing/fluctuating?
 
Along her side? Is that the same spot you are injecting the insulin into? That is kinda odd.. whats her curve like the rest of the day? Do you have a SS?
 
Hi & Welcome!

The lying down is not unusual. Racci always lies down after her shot. She seems to like relaxing afterwards. She'll get up and eat after about half an hour of resting and then go take a nap.

Does Ripley do that motion any other time? Does she seem sore? Does she seem like she's enjoying it? Could it just be a relaxation movement?

Melanie & Racci
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I wonder if you could fill us in on Ripley's background? Is there information on Health that you could cut and paste over here (or link) so we would have a context for your questions?
 
Thanks for replying.
I've never seen that behavior before; she could be relaxing, but if so it's in a manner I've never seen her do in her 14 yrs -- her eyes are open, and when I call her, she slowly moves her eyes to me, but not her head. (Normally she comes right to me when called.) And she lays on the same side, regardless of which side I inject her on. She looks uncomfortable. It's a temporary state -- she's back to her normal self an hour or 2 later, so maybe she is sore from the injection site. I suppose I'm just nervous -- this is still new and overwhelming, and I've suddenly become a helicopter parent.

I'm working on her SS... hopefully it attached successfully.
 
Could be shes just a bit mad or confused by all the poking. Tiggy lies down(or is gently pushed down) for his shot and doesnt get up for a while after.. too lazy. Maybe give her a nice lo carb freeze dried treat after and she will be happier about the whole thing.. if thats the issue.

Your SS works good. Next thing is to create your profile ;)

Her numbers are coming down which is nice to see. Are you planning to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol?
 
I wouldn't be too concerned. It took Champ about a month to stop acting lethargic, tired, and sick. Once the insulin really kicks in, in just a couple few weeks, you'll really start noticing an improvement. Just keep checking for ketones whenever you can to be on the safe side. Things WILL improve. Champ and I have been at this for over 1.5 years and I sometimes forget he's "sick." The only thing different between before diabetes and now is that we have a much tighter bond. Our kitties seem to know all the poking is for their own good and they love us even more for taking such good care of them!!
 
I guess I am following the tight regulation protocol. Still learning about the different approaches.

Due to the holiday weekend, I've been able to do multiple daily tests (that will change tomorrow when I go back to work). I will do a full curve this Saturday, which will be a little over a week by then, since beginning the injections.

I have not been feeding small meals throughout the day, however; Ripley and the rest of the pets get 2 meals ea. day, same times (6am & 6pm).

I am very thankful for the FDMB.

And her profile is avail now.
 
Good job! Can you make her profile public though cos I cant see it?

Also here is info on the tight regulation protocol - usually we make changes of 0.25IU. Now that you are on 1.5IU you would hold it for the amount of days listed below unless the kitty earns a reduction. Does it make sense? We do tests every time pre-shot and we also measure the "nadir" or lowest point. Its supposed to be at +6 but kitties vary a lot and you wont know until you have done testing for a while and spot checks to see where that is for Ripley.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
 
I tend to be cautious and trust your observations -- you know your cat! What I would suggest is trying to get a video of what you're seeing. You can post it here and send it to your vet. I would hate to dismiss something that has your radar up.

If you could change the "share" settings for Ripley's Profile to "anyone with the link" we'll be able to learn more about your cat.
 
I just wanted to tell you that you have found the most amazing group of people to help you thru this. Hoot and I have only been here since Oct 2nd, 2012, and I don't know what I'd have done without them! My vet also told me home testing was to hard, to just keep bringing him in to be tested. Well I knew that would get expensive and I'm the kind of person to take mine and my animals health into my own hands, if I can, so I decided to start home testing. I can tell you it's very overwhelming at first, but just know that it will get easier every day! And you will always have someone here anytime of the day to help you! Don't be afraid to ask questions. Your already doing AWESOME just by being here, so take a deep breath and know you are in GREAT hands :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top