? day 3 of dose increase - +10 spike to 446??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cataphraz

Member Since 2018
Mookie's glucose levels have been gradually coming down the past two day on his new dose and then I woke up this morning for his +10 test and he is very lethargic. I took his reading and it was 446 (24.8mmol/L). I read that this might be a panicky liver reaction to the new dose. Thoughts?

Thanks :)
 
Are you following SLGS? It would be helpful to put that in your signature. Also, the SLGS guidelines give good direction on when to increase the dose, etc. Are you following those?

Yes, a high number like that red could be caused by a drop overnight that you didn't catch. It can be called "bouncing" or "panicky liver" if you like.
 
I am no expert by any means but it looks like Mookie might have something else going on causing his #s to keep increasing after he was doing well on half this dose. Maybe a dental issue or some other underlying condition?
 
I am no expert by any means but it looks like Mookie might have something else going on causing his #s to keep increasing after he was doing well on half this dose. Maybe a dental issue or some other underlying condition?

I've been wondering about that too. The crazy thing is that despite having high glucose levels for the past month, he hasn't lost weight, his fur looks great, he only urinates x2 per day (which he did at the lower glucose levels) and his water consumption is higher than when his levels were lower but not extremely - he only goes to the water dish a couple times a day (approx. 80-100ml of water daily). He's also not ravenously hungry and doesn't ask for food throughout the day. He hasn't lost any appetite either, eating all his food at AM and PM mealtimes. When he is in the red he is less energetic than when he was in the normal range but the difference is not extreme. I just tested his AMPS, 22.6 mmol/L (406), and he is running around with great energy. It's quite baffling.
 
Are you following SLGS? It would be helpful to put that in your signature. Also, the SLGS guidelines give good direction on when to increase the dose, etc. Are you following those?

Yes, a high number like that red could be caused by a drop overnight that you didn't catch. It can be called "bouncing" or "panicky liver" if you like.

I have been following SLGS but being more conservative in the dose increases. He is quite sensitive to changes in insulin dosing. When he was at the humane society, before I found him, they struggled with his glucose levels. He would react drastically to dose increases and decreases. They were never able to stabilize him.
 
Looking over the SS it's possible that Mookie went lower last night and is bouncing some more. Keep up the good work getting data through the cycle, but at night time please always get at least a test before you go to bed so you can catch a lower number as most kitties go lower in the PM cycle.

New dose wonkiness usually occurs in the 2nd or 3rd cycle after an increase.
 
Looking over the SS it's possible that Mookie went lower last night and is bouncing some more. Keep up the good work getting data through the cycle, but at night time please always get at least a test before you go to bed so you can catch a lower number as most kitties go lower in the PM cycle.

New dose wonkiness usually occurs in the 2nd or 3rd cycle after an increase.

Thanks! It's been tough catching Mookie's nadirs, as his curve seems to keep shifting. I'll make sure to get a daily reading before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top