Day 2....thinking an increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Member Since 2014
I decreased Hidey today to 1 unit. He's been doing ok, but I don't think his numbers are where they should be. I just took his +6 reading and he was 258. Should I give it a few days to see if he settles in or should I up him to 1.5 units?
 
I would suggest holding at 1u for a couple cycles yet. Today's cycle could have been influenced by a bounce due to that low you had yesterday AM. Let's see what he does with 1u this PM cycle. :smile:

*Edited: Lets see where he's at closer to PMPS. He could still be going down.
 
Did you increase today or hold? How did he do today? I like Jenn's idea to hold the dose another cycle just in case the flatter cycle was a reaction to his greens the first day on ProZinc. We generally say three cycles before an increase.

The other thing that would be a good idea is to increase .25 at a time. Then you can be sure you haven't passed over a good dose.
 
My apologies everyone, I truly do appreciate your help I just don't usually get to a computer on Sunday (it's the one day I get with my husband) and yesterday was my bday so I was out and about yesterday.

I have been giving Hidey 1.5 units. His numbers seem to be better with it although I'm wondering if it might need to be increased in time since he gets up higher before his next shot. He's at 389 at +9 and his shot is 3 hrs away.
 
I am wondering about the preshots being so high. He didn't bounce much on the 2/24 cycle when you got all the midcycle blues. So I am thinking it would unusual for him to bounce on these latest ones, even though he drops into a blue from a 400. If not, the logical explanation is that the insulin isn't lasting long enough and an increase would help.

I am thinking an increase for the red 400s - maybe up to 1.75 if you can eyeball it. (do you have U40 needles?). But leave the pink 300s at 1.5? That dose seems to be working okay for them.

If you want, you can buy U100 needles and use our conversion chart (which makes it possible to dose U40 insulin with U100 needles). The advantage is that you can do smaller dose changes. So for example, you could give a 1.6 or 1.8 with good accuracy.
 
Just throwing this out there...it looks like 1.5 is dropping Hidey a huge amount by +3. For example, on the AM cycle of 2/23, 1.5 units pulled Hidey off a pre-shot of 496 and dropped him down over 300 points in three hours to 153. That fast early drop may have freaked his body out and caused him to skyrocket back up before the end of the cycle. On the AM cycle today again, 1.5u dropped Hidey over 300 points within 4 hours and he skyrocketed back up to almost 400 by +9. These look like bounces to me. :smile: It's hard to say what's happening during the PM cycle...if Hidey is going lower or not. If not, those blues are safe numbers so you can just wait him out to see if he will stop bouncing. Otherwise, my one concern is that the 2u was pretty clearly too much. You went down to 1u, but only held it for two days before increasing up to 1.5u. I'm wondering if it's possible that a "good" dose of 1.25u got skipped over.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top