Kris & Teasel
Very Active Member
Hi fellow PZIers,
Yesterday my cat, Teasel, had a low AMPS of 6.9 (124) so I withheld his insulin. Sue suggested that I try a dose of 2.6 units in the evening. His PMPS was high, of course, at 24.7 (445). I gave him 2.6 units at his usual time after his evening meal. I didn't do any more testing during the evening because I was battling a raging headache and went to bed.
This morning, his AMPS was 16.9 (304) - not too bad considering he'd had only one lower dose the day before. I've tested today at +5 (11.3), +8 (9.4) and a short while ago, his PMPS (at about +11.5) was 7.9. It's in his SS. I know this is too low to shoot but I don't want to have too many missed shots. He's been fed and is just finishing. Should I wait an hour? two hours?, test again and try giving only 1.0 unit as a "token dose"? I'm unsure of how to proceed. Hoping some expert eyes are on the forum.
Yesterday my cat, Teasel, had a low AMPS of 6.9 (124) so I withheld his insulin. Sue suggested that I try a dose of 2.6 units in the evening. His PMPS was high, of course, at 24.7 (445). I gave him 2.6 units at his usual time after his evening meal. I didn't do any more testing during the evening because I was battling a raging headache and went to bed.
This morning, his AMPS was 16.9 (304) - not too bad considering he'd had only one lower dose the day before. I've tested today at +5 (11.3), +8 (9.4) and a short while ago, his PMPS (at about +11.5) was 7.9. It's in his SS. I know this is too low to shoot but I don't want to have too many missed shots. He's been fed and is just finishing. Should I wait an hour? two hours?, test again and try giving only 1.0 unit as a "token dose"? I'm unsure of how to proceed. Hoping some expert eyes are on the forum.