Day 2 for Samantha AMPS 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thebudster77

Member Since 2014
Hello Everyone,

I had tested Samantha with Jack's meter before she was officially DX'd and got an average of 336 over 12 tests done at varying times (270-398)

On her first day, yesterday, she was AMPS 299 and I started her on 1u bid.

Today her AMPS was 165. I was a little shocked but since ECID and she was 1/2 of Jack's initial DX @ 634. I was like, ok this looks promising.

:?: Let me ask is it?

Today will be her first mid cycle test. I will do it at +4 just to see how low she is going. I did not necessarily expect the PS numbers to be in a range that I would be concerned with a low nadir.

She is less than cooperative when it comes time for testing now, as it is done at food time with Jack around.

She was great when I caught her at odd times laying on the bed, she really never said a word. Now she is starting to whine. Does anybody have some cheese to go with it? :lol:

:?: Any input on her going from solid yellow to blue in 24 hours? She has been on the same diet (Purina DM) as Jack since 8/9. So the food has already lowered it about as low as it will.

Thank you all, We really appreciate it.
 
Yes, I would test at +4 and maybe later too depending upon that BG.
It is not unusual to see a rapid decrease in required insulin
 
Thebudster77 said:
She was great when I caught her at odd times laying on the bed, she really never said a word. Now she is starting to whine. Does anybody have some cheese to go with it? :lol:

No, but some low carb treats, like freeze dried chicken may help. Soon she will be reminding you it is time to test. :mrgreen:
 
Hi Larry and Lisa,

Samantha is +5/216. This may be the start of a bounce because her body may be sensing that that numbers in the 100's is too low..Right? I think I am getting the hang of it.

I will continue the initial 1u unless she goes low.

Off to Walmart for the ReliOn confirm and Petco for the FD Chicken treats for Jack. Samantha likes the FD Shrimp which Jack turned his nose up at.

Here is the information about the DM Chows. Can you tell me how I figure out the carbs? I did put it under Jacks post in the TR but want to ensure that I get an answer as I would like to use up the whole bag I just opened. It is dry and I know how important people are saying to get off the dry. They would both be if I can find a treat that Jack likes.

I just do not have anything to give him for being a good boy and I cannot neglect him when I give something to Samantha. It is just not fair.


Ah well, bbl
Kevin
 
Thebudster77 said:
...This may be the start of a bounce because her body may be sensing that that numbers in the 100's is too low..Right? ...
If the lowest she went was unusual for her or if she dropped fast, then yes, she could be bouncing. Darn those counter-regulatory hormones!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top