A
Anonymous
Guest
Today is Buddy's first day on Lev, my first day of home testing, first day on the board, rather unfamiliar with terminology and feeling a bit overwhelmed. Buddy was diagnosed 11/19/10 with BG of 454. Vet prescribed 3 units of Humulin 2X/day. Buddy's 12/13/10 vet visit revealed BG reading of 127. His 1/10/11 visit revealed BG 264. Increased Humulin to 4 units. His BG on 1/14/11 revealed 335. We started on one (1) unit of Lev today (on 7am/7pm schedule). Unsuccessfully attempted to test him in morning. Successfully tested at noon and his BG was 376; tested again at 9:30pm and BG was 390.
We're heading in the wrong direction but guess it should be expected this early in the switch in insulin, right? Buddy is 8 years old. His food of choice all of his life has been Fancy Feast and just this week eliminated dry food. How long does it usually take for the lower numbers to kick in before increasing dosage?
Thanks in advance to anyone out there willing to offer advice.
We're heading in the wrong direction but guess it should be expected this early in the switch in insulin, right? Buddy is 8 years old. His food of choice all of his life has been Fancy Feast and just this week eliminated dry food. How long does it usually take for the lower numbers to kick in before increasing dosage?
Thanks in advance to anyone out there willing to offer advice.