Holly & Dagda
Member Since 2012
Hey guys.. Okay so after the diet change and insulin has kicked in we are now dancing through the 100's all week! Dagda was prescribed 1.5u of Lantus 2x a day. I switched her food completely to wet and it brought her numbers down drastically. We were now in the 200's! I reduced her dose to 1u but then she was dipping below 100. Now that her "storage shed" is full should I still be giving her 1u? Yesterday her amps was 118, after eating 136. So, no insulin. I waited through the day and brought it up to 176. So I gave her .5u last night. This morning she is 130. Should I give .5u again? Or just give the injection tonight? Is it really possible she could be close to getting OTJ?
I know I need a spreadsheet, I have numbers written everywhere but unfortunately a mobile phone. Sorry guys! I really need some input though.. Also, does insulin or just Lantus in general make a cat seem more jumpy/skittish? She's a great patient, doesn't fuss much with pokes and shots. She's actually starting to enjoy it(weird!) I guess it's the treats.
Anyway, any other time she's real lazy or very skittish. Just curious if any of you have discovered any behavior differences since giving insulin.
Thanks guys! (this place is a lifesaver!!!)
dancing_cat
I know I need a spreadsheet, I have numbers written everywhere but unfortunately a mobile phone. Sorry guys! I really need some input though.. Also, does insulin or just Lantus in general make a cat seem more jumpy/skittish? She's a great patient, doesn't fuss much with pokes and shots. She's actually starting to enjoy it(weird!) I guess it's the treats.
Thanks guys! (this place is a lifesaver!!!)
dancing_cat