Dancing in the 100's (Lantus q's)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys.. Okay so after the diet change and insulin has kicked in we are now dancing through the 100's all week! Dagda was prescribed 1.5u of Lantus 2x a day. I switched her food completely to wet and it brought her numbers down drastically. We were now in the 200's! I reduced her dose to 1u but then she was dipping below 100. Now that her "storage shed" is full should I still be giving her 1u? Yesterday her amps was 118, after eating 136. So, no insulin. I waited through the day and brought it up to 176. So I gave her .5u last night. This morning she is 130. Should I give .5u again? Or just give the injection tonight? Is it really possible she could be close to getting OTJ?

I know I need a spreadsheet, I have numbers written everywhere but unfortunately a mobile phone. Sorry guys! I really need some input though.. Also, does insulin or just Lantus in general make a cat seem more jumpy/skittish? She's a great patient, doesn't fuss much with pokes and shots. She's actually starting to enjoy it(weird!) I guess it's the treats. :-D Anyway, any other time she's real lazy or very skittish. Just curious if any of you have discovered any behavior differences since giving insulin.

Thanks guys! (this place is a lifesaver!!!)
dancing_cat
 
There's really no good way to draw any conclusions about how well Dagda is progressing without being able to see a spreadsheet. Typically, on the Lantus board, we taper insulin down to microdoses (e.g., 01u) and hold each dose in the downward progression for a week before the next reduction. Your cat should be in mostly normal numbers (50 - 120) during that time unless a dose reduction is warranted. Doses are reduced either by your cat's numbers dropping below 50 or by staying in the normal range for a week.

Once a cat's insulin is tapered off, we recommend that you keep testing at AMPS and PMPS for 2 weeks to make sure the numbers hold. This way, you know your cat is doing well without insulin to support her pancreas.

I'm not entirely comfortable giving you input regarding dose without being able to see the numbers. I would not want to make a suggestion that could harm your cat.
 
It would be no problem to set one up if I had a computer. It won't let you make one with mobile Internet :( I guess I could do it at my parents they live about an hour away though. Wouldn't be able to update it very often. I'll see if I can get over there tomorrow and do it. Thanks

I gave her a tiny dose this morning .25 I'll continue to watch.
 
I am wondering if you had a spreadsheet whether or not you can enter numbers with your phone to keep it updated.

I don't have one of these higher tech phones so I don't know how they work....
 
If you have a smart phone, you can download Google Drive. The spread sheet is nothing more than a Google Document Spreadsheet. You should be able to go to the link about setting up a spreadsheet on the phone. Its easy to do on a phone, I do it all the time.
 
Thank you so much I have an iPhone and I'm downloading it now. I had no idea about that. I'll try setting it up today. Thanks!!!

Edit: scratch that, I need ios5 to download? Not sure what that means.. probably an update seeing as how I havent updated my phone in a looong time.
 
LOL......not sure about the update because I use a Droid, but yeah its probably an update. Just make sure to follow the instructions on this site to set up the SS. If you need help, let us know on here and someone can help you get it done. Dont be freaked by all the stuff on it. When I started mine I didnt understand the + numbers and what it all meant.

AMPS (Morning test number before shot)
PMPS (Night test number before shot)
The +s mean hours after the AM or PM shots (like +2 is two hours after, +6 is six hours). There are people on the board from all over the world so using +'s is better for different time zones.

Good luck getting it set up!
 
Congrats on getting the sheet setup. You need to add it to your signature that way you dont have to post the url for it everytime. Someone can look at it anytime they need to. So follow the directions at the bottom of the post to get it into your signature.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

Now go into the Lantus board (most of us use the tight regulation protocol and where there are more eyes) and post your numbers for today. The subject line will look like this:

7/29 Dagda AMPS 138 +3 117 +8 124

Then when you get a new number, go to your first post of the condo (what we all call the on going post), edit it and put in the new number and save it. It will show up as the new subject line. You can go in a do a reply if you want (say to add some info or a question). Also let them know you are new to Lantus Land adding in New with questions and check the ? button in the post icon place so they know you have questions. You will get more help on the Lantus board than here. Then when it becomes time for your PMPS, replace the entire day with PMPS # and start the process over for the night time. On the next morning, go to your old post, copy the url, start a new topic, put the url in the post with something like Yesterday's Condo (Url link). Subject will be your new AMPS and days numbers and so on and so on. You will do this everyday (if possible) so they can keep up with what is going on and help you with questions if you need it.
 
Thanks guys, what happened is that I actually edited the real template so now when anyone pulls up the template to make their own spreadsheet they see dagda's! I'm such a dork! My phone wont let me make a copy and save then restore the template back to it's original. I guess i have to wait till I get to an actual computer unless someone could help me out? I just need the link I gave you to be put back to the template and to make a separate copy of Dagda's. Does that makes sense? Sorry if I sound confusing. If you go to the spreadsheet setup post and click USA template it goes to dagda's cause I edited it! Ah! So sorry again, I -can- edit spreadsheets on this phone but it won't let me do much else!
 
I am not sure how to get the original back but I am sure it will be fixed. Dont worry about it, I know how hard it is to do it on a phone. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top