DALE 09/08 AMPS 194 +3 119 +6 225

Jerica&Dale

Member Since 2021
Hi All,
Been a while since I've made a post. Please be kind to me, I've been doing the best I can. I lost one of my fur babies, Tony last week. He was CKD and became severely anemic and most likely had some type of cancer in his abdomen and I had to make the toughest decision to let him go so he is no longer suffering. I miss him so much and its been a very difficult time. I had been so busy taking care of my boy, that I was just making sure my two other diabetics ( Dale & Ramone ) were getting their shots and eating etc. Not putting all my focus onto Dales #'s

So now here I am, Dales #'s confuse the heck out of me. One day OK #'s, some good, then some high numbers. Meanwhile, I change nothing in our routine. From feeding the same 4-5 flavors of food, and timing is always spot on.

Any input or advise would be greatly appreciated. I'd just like to get him to a point hopefully were he isn't fluctuating so much, if that is possible. And at times I've increased he drops so low the following day calling for a reduction. And we've been at 1.75 for a while, bumped him to 2 to try and see if that would help and we we are back down to 1.75u due to the low of 43 on 08/29.

Thank you,
Jerica
 
Hi Jerica. So sorry for your loss. Dale was bouncing from the line green he got. I think you have room to increase to 2.0 unless you see green today.
 
Hi Jerica. So sorry for your loss. Dale was bouncing from the line green he got. I think you have room to increase to 2.0 unless you see green today.[/QU

OK.... I can try 2 units tonight if he stays blue... I will be checking his +6 and +9

Can you confirm I did the correct thing reducing back down to 1.75 after the 43 ?? I can't seem to figure out the difference between a bounce or NDW.
 
Hi Jerica, sorry to hear about Tony! :bighug:

Can you confirm I did the correct thing reducing back down to 1.75 after the 43 ?? I can't seem to figure out the difference between a bounce or NDW.
Yes you did the right thing by reducing. With SLGS a drop below 90 is a immediate reduce.

Do you think you will be able to follow TR?

Any tests after the 119 today? Looks like he may give you green.
 
Hi Jerica, sorry to hear about Tony! :bighug:


Yes you did the right thing by reducing. With SLGS a drop below 90 is a immediate reduce.

Do you think you will be able to follow TR?

Any tests after the 119 today? Looks like he may give you green.
The spreadsheet says TR. Which are you currently following?
 
Yes. It says SLGS at the top and then going to TR protocol in April 2021.


+6 225

Like I said I had been extremely overwhelmed, trying to nurse by boy back to health so wasn't following anything just giving him insulin and trying to keep all my cats alive.

the last month is literally a blur and I just lost my boy on Friday.

Following TR would have called for a reduction anyway on the 08/29 when he went to 43 correct? He's not brand new diagnosed, but its less than a year. And at 43, I wasn't going to ride it out for an hour without giving him some high carb food/honey on the gums to risk a hypo. so his +3 did increase ....

I just want to know why I always have to constantly change his dose. I just want to find his right dose and leave it but it seems like impossible to do so.

Right now I guess I'm goin SLGS because I don't understand whats going on with him. I increase his dose, then he drops too low, I decrease, then his numbers are wonky, but then some decent ones so I carry on thinking if I did increase it will drop him too low and after this month the last thing i want is to come anywhere near close to a hypo situation.
UPDATED THE SS.
 
We just wanted to know what you want to follow now. I understand the past is a blur. I still think you have room to increase. That’s what cats do many times. They keep going up and down until they get used to normal numbers.
 
We just wanted to know what you want to follow now. I understand the past is a blur. I still think you have room to increase. That’s what cats do many times. They keep going up and down until they get used to normal numbers.

OK thank you.

I'll go up to 2 units tonight and hope for the best.
Hopefully can get some steady greens/blue.
 
Good luck with the increase. Are you going to go back to SLGS or stick with TR? Please add whichever method you want to follow fir now to your signature and ss so we don’t keep asking you.
 
Back
Top