Dainty's AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
WHELP, almost killed my cat this morning. Was planning to give her insulin because I was two hours late (slept in) and had fed her a substantial amount of food in the middle of the night. She was looking normally so I figured everything was fine. Something changed my mind and tested her first, she was 29. I gave her some honey coated kibble but it was a not so subtle reminder to ALWAYS test before giving insulin.
 
She's thankfully doing better now. I'm going to re-test in an hour to make sure she's made some upward movement. Number's wise; She's been doing something strange lately. She'll get normally at night, around 5pm with numbers in the 330-350 range. I've been giving her 1.2u (the dose she got last night) and in the morning she'll be in the 100-160 range. So then I skip giving insulin and the cycle continues. I'm worried though, that if I lower the evening dose she wouldn't go down enough because previously she didn't do so well on 1u or even .8u, Tonight was an anomaly for her to go so low and with so much time in between shots, being two hours late to give the morning dose and all. Also, my spreadsheet is way out of date. I've been so busy with the holidays that I've just been keeping the numbers on the meter.
 
Thank God you checked!!! :shock:
Definately time to reduce dose,
It is always better to give insulin 12 hours apart...so I would reduce and watch
 
How much insulin did you give her 3 hours ago and what was her preshot
41 at +3 you will need to watch for awhile
I would giv e a little kibble and retest in 20 minutes to make sure she is going up
 
ALWAYS test before shooting. My cat, Kitty always ran high when we were dosing BID. Most of the time, her preshots ranged anywhere from mid 300s to high 400s. Over the 5 month period that Kitty was dosed BID, I bet we did not see two yellow preshots. BUT, on two occassions over that period we had a 98 and a 71 preshot. You can never be certain enough of a BG to shoot without testing.

I assume the +3 you are referring to, is +3 of her amps and that you didn't shoot. So, I am thinking it is really +15. Is that correct?

I agree with Denise, you need to reduce your dose and try to find dose that can be given at 12 hour intervals.

Keep a check on Danity, but I would not be surprised to see a sudden spike and a high BG. Remember, do not shoot the bounce. Even if you see a high BG and decide to shoot, you should reduce your dose. Most likely, Danity is going to react to the low BGs with her liver will dump glucosamine and a highBG spike will follow.

Please continue to test before every shot!!!

Good Luck!
 
Agree with everyone. She could shoot up fast. I would lay off the high carb stuff and give a little low carb while checking every so often. After 2 rising numbers, she should continue to rise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top