CVS TRUEresult is JUNK

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinksdaddy

Member Since 2012
My vet let me borrow an alphatrak.i compared the two.the trueresult is 25 to 35 points lower.junk.i bought a reli on prime and im going to compare and use that as my meter now on.just letting anyone who has one know.toss it
 
tinksdaddy said:
My vet let me borrow an alphatrak.i compared the two.the trueresult is 25 to 35 points lower.junk.i bought a reli on prime and im going to compare and use that as my meter now on.just letting anyone who has one know.toss it

All of the meters with TRUE in the name and also all of the Free Style meters are horrible, so you will do better all around with the Relion... the results very good, and the test strips are quite economical.

Now, any of the human meters are not going to test the same as the pet AT meters, but they are are still trustworthy for use in dosing for your cat.
 
Before you throw the baby out with the bath water, human meters and the AlphaTrack are calibrated differently. The AlphaTrack usually measures roughly 30 points higher than a human glucometer. The difference is expected. Normal range BG on a human meter is 50 - 120 whereas on an AlphaTrack, the normal reange is 80 - 150.
 
"True" meters info incorrect per Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports recently listed several meters with "true" in the name and also a FreeStyle meter as some of the best meters available.

I've posted this before and asked people to keep updated on info they post on this site. Meters change, diabetes care changes, life changes.

_Rebecca
 
I used the True Test meter for Beau the whole time he was on insulin and I felt it was accurate - testing myself, I got a believable number every time. When the strips went up in price I looked into a "better" meter and got the True Result one. It used a smaller blood sample and overall worked better - except for the test results. I compared it to my two True test ones and got way lower numbers on both Beau and myself on the TR one over both TT ones. I called the company and they said it was bad strips and sent a free vial of them - I got the same kind of results with the new strips and ended up giving up on the TR meter. I then switched to the Contour, which tested closely to the TT meters and stuck with that until Beau was OTJ, and then again with Jeddie until, well......

Consumer Reports findings aside, I could not trust the TR meter. Not for testing in numbers at 100 +/- 50. I think it is less accurate at the lower numbers - off on the low end. This makes managing FD with the L insulins, especially if you are using the TR method difficult. Is your cat at 30 or 50? Bring out the HC or LC for that low number? Is your cat at 90 or 125? Reduce the dose a tad because you won't be home, or shoot a full dose?

Rebecca, I am not sure what you are saying here. We are not supposed to post about bad results using meters, strips, lancets, insulin, etc.? We have to keep abreast of all diabetes care tools and methods? That would be a full time job.

It's our real-life use of the meters that determines their reliability and trustworthiness, not the results of studies on humans who are not treated the same way cats are. Meters, accept the expensive AT one, are designed for humans, we do the best we can with them on our cats. It is not surprising that some work better, or to an individual seem to work better, on our cats than others.
 
I'm not sure how accurate the True Result is otherwise, so maybe there are others that are better, but like Sienne said, human glucometers are supposed to be 20-30 points lower than the AlphaTrak because they are calibrated differently for humans vs cats. Any human glucometer will be about that much lower than the AT, it isn't a flaw in the True Result.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top