Curve confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

storm

Member Since 2017
the Alpha Trak meter my vet wanted me to use for curve tests arrived yesterday, I set it all up according to the instruction manual and tested it yesterday comparing numbers to my ReliOn Prime meter for 2-3 readings,
so today I have been using it for his curve testing .. I thought the numbers were supposed to go down after the AM shot? his numbers didn't go down at all, they instead climbed and peaked at +6 and have started going down as it gets closer to give the PM shot.

Cinn is still only getting 1 unit of Lantus until my vet can take a look at the curve numbers and decides how much of an increase to give him. I know he is not getting fur shots as I shaved a small area so I can see the skin better when I give him his shot, so not sure why the numbers would go up after a shot.

I did change up the dry he gets yesterday, I am starting to change over from the YA Zero to the EVO in the purple bag so his dry bowl has 3/4 YA Zero and 1/4 EVO mixed together .. not liking the carbs are at 12% on the EVO but the cost of the YA Zero for 7 cats was breaking my bank as the 8lb bag only lasted me 10 days but the 15lb of EVO is a few bucks cheaper and should last me at least 14 days when the next bag arrives. I don't think the change up effected his numbers today as his numbers have been going up every day since the second day he was put on Lantus and he still gets his yummy wet food.
 
Imo, I think he will probably need an increase in dose. The increase in carbs from the food alone would probably cause him to need an increase. (Once he gets on all Evo you might see another increase)
My cat has had cycles where he doesn't move much in numbers to the second half of his cycle. He's a bouncy Kitty on a high dose. Not the typical FD cat.
 
This will DEFINITELY affect the results of a curve you're doing today. Hard food stays in the system for many hours sometimes even 24+. If your earlier numbers were based on eating the YA, they won't truly be comparable to the ones on much higher carb EVO.

his numbers were coming down before he went on Lantus with just wet food and the YA Zero .. he was started on Lantus a week ago Saturday, the first day he was on it, his numbers were great .. after that they slowly started climbing, every day it was going higher .. I didn't start giving him the EVO until yesterday and its a small amount mixed into the YA Zero, about a 1/4 cup to 1-1/2 cups YA Zero .. the EVO wouldn't have effected the numbers climbing since last Sunday as until yesterday he was on just wet food and the YA Zero.

now his PMPS was 568 and even tho I dont have to test as often now that the 12 hours are up, I plan to test him every 2 hours until midnight just to see if his numbers go down for the evening. I know with his numbers still continuing to climb after he had been on the Lantus for 3 days that the vet will most likely be increasing his dose.
 
Really does sound like he will just need a bigger dose. The right dose usually ends up a moving target. It's not a set it and forget it type thing. You might get a long run of good numbers on a certain dose then end up increasing or decreasing.
Hope you see better numbers soon. I've been there with crazy high numbers and a SS full of black and red. It's frustrating. Sounds like you're doing all the right things. As for the Evo vs Young again. The higher carb food will make him need more insulin. This goes for wet foods too. Higher carbs usually means higher dose.
My cat gets extra lc wet food because he's trying to gain weight so I have had to compensate for the extra food he is getting. Hopefully soon he'll get less food and maybe less insulin. Time will tell.
 
Really does sound like he will just need a bigger dose. The right dose usually ends up a moving target. It's not a set it and forget it type thing. You might get a long run of good numbers on a certain dose then end up increasing or decreasing.
Hope you see better numbers soon. I've been there with crazy high numbers and a SS full of black and red. It's frustrating. Sounds like you're doing all the right things. As for the Evo vs Young again. The higher carb food will make him need more insulin. This goes for wet foods too. Higher carbs usually means higher dose.
My cat gets extra lc wet food because he's trying to gain weight so I have had to compensate for the extra food he is getting. Hopefully soon he'll get less food and maybe less insulin. Time will tell.

yes my guy needs to gain weight as well .. he used to be a lean muscle machine at about 10-12 lbs, then he ended up with tape worms in Feb and that's all she wrote .. cleared the worms and he continued to go down hill, I thought for sure it was cancer since he lost so much weight and muscle mass so fast and no matter how much wet food i put in front of his face he wasnt gaining the weight back so off to the vet we went.

He is on low carb wet, I switch it up depending on if there is a sale some place, between FF Classic, Friskies classic pate, 9 Lives meaty Pate or Special Kitty classic pates ( SK is under 10% carbs as well but the protein is only between 20-30% so I supplement by adding canned chicken breast or tuna to it, water and all or i cook up a hamburger and crumble it in to it, local dollar store has swanson brand CB for 65 cents a can) but I just couldn't afford the YA any more especially since he was eating less and less of it since starting on Lantus and he just stopped eating it altogether on Friday and it was making one of my civvies throw up every time she ate it, so i figured to try the EVO so if he gets into it, it wont cause his BG to skyrocket.
 
Cinn never got out of the 500's at all yesterday during the curve.

over slept this morning so his amps was an hour and half late .. he was 564, I gave him his shot and pulled up his bowl of YA/EVO dry and gave extra wet, lets see if the numbers come down at all today .. Dr Elsey's is sending me a sample of their Clean Protein dry, its 5% carbs or less max, fat is 18% min and 59% min protein, if he likes that, I would have to purchase 2 -6.6 lb bags to feed all 7 of my cats for 14 days (6.6 lb is biggest size they currently offer), 1 bag is 47 bucks .. feeding 7 cats just wet food is not possible here so I need a dry to feed the others so if Cinn gets into it, its not going to send his numbers skyrocketing plus so he has something to nibble on during the day while I am working, I tried freezing wet food in chunks, he ate it the first 2-3 days, after that he refused to even touch it, I would come home from work to find him starving and the defrosted wet food untouched, if I give him the entire 13 oz can he will only eat about half and leave the rest to dry out but if I only give him half he will be starving when I get home.

5 of the 7 cats liked the YA Zero but I need a 25 lb bag to feed all 7 for more than 10 days as my budget doesn't allow me to buy a 8 lb bag weekly and the cost for a 25 lb bag is way out of my budget for the next 2 months but Cinn stopped eating it completely once he was put on insulin and another cat will just throw it up when she eats it and then eat stuff she shouldn't.

right now I keep him cooped up in my bedroom for most of the day so I know he is the only one eating his wet food plus 1 of my cats is a bully to him, been that way since he got sick ( I have a calming diffuser so waiting to see if that will help with easing tensions), at night the bully goes in the large dog crate so I can leave my bedroom door open so I can sleep in peace without them fighting and keeping me awake all night. I will be pulling the community bowl of YA/EVO dry at night if I see his numbers coming down today with him just being on wet as I noticed he was just picking out the EVO and leaving the YA in his own dry bowl ( YA is small pieces, EVO is about the size of a chocolate chip).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top