Curious if i should set an alarm for a +6 check or if im good?

jud and corv

Member Since 2025
Cross posting here in case wendy is asleep (she has been my girl through getting adjusted to this). Basically started cat on 1U a week ago, decreased to .5U today bc he was too low to be giving pm shots. gave him his pm shot today and it’s already dropped ~50 pts. Linking other thread below


8/22 Corv, AMPS 212 +7 142 PMPS 166
 
i fed him a tbsp low carb food and will check +6.

if he’s ~100 at +6 i think he’ll be ok if he’s 80-100 i’ll feed LC and check again in 30-60 mins.

if he’s <80 ill go ahead with medium carb food and check every 20 minutes!
 
Sorry no one got back to you sooner. Most of us are asleep when you were posting. Wendy is one of our night owls. We have other members who are across the globe (e.g., Bron is in Australia) who are sometimes around.

Generally, we reduce doses by 0.25u. I think it's a matter of perspective and experience as to whether Corv's numbers were too low to shoot. At this point, I'd hold the 0.25u dose and see how your kitty does. It looks like you're following SLGS (you may want to add that information to your signature) so you would hold the dose for a week unless Corv's numbers indicate the dose needs to be reduced.

In case you need information on handling low numbers, this post should be helpful.
 
Back
Top