? Crowley 8/23 || AMPS 228 +2 247 PMPS 242 +2 246

Liz & Crowley

Member Since 2026
Yesterday's condo

Things continue to hold steady-- Crowley will be due for a dose increase on Wednesday, and I had some questions leading up to that.

1) If I've done really consistent curves do I need to do a curve thee day before I do a dose increase? I can't do one Tuesday, but I can do one Wednesday, which is when I was originally planning on doing the dose increase. But he seems to not really have a day to day curve so much as a slow slide down the ladder.
2) What are things to look out for with increasing the dose?
3) unrelated to increasing the dose, but Tuesday, he'll have to miss his PM shot (Work is making me go into the office 2 hrs early, which means I won't be home at 2pm) I don't think this should have any terribly adverse effects, and my plan is to proceed at 2am as normal. This is the correct action, right?
 
You don't need to do curves every day, or night. You've been doing an amazing job! You do want to do a curve on a day that ideally isn't a bounce and with a full depot, which in the beginning can take 5-7 days. Outside of the curves, spot checks in the AM and PM cycle are great. You do want to be able to answer the question "how low is this dose taking my cat?".

What are things to look out for with increasing the dose?
Ideally you don't want to do the increase on the same cycle as they are breaking any bounce, as that can mean extra downward momentum. Other than that, there is not a consistent answer across all cats. Sometimes cats in the first or 2nd cycle give you a hint what the dose can do, some wait until cycle 5-6.
unrelated to increasing the dose, but Tuesday, he'll have to miss his PM shot (Work is making me go into the office 2 hrs early, which means I won't be home at 2pm) I don't think this should have any terribly adverse effects, and my plan is to proceed at 2am as normal. This is the correct action, right?
A skipped shot will mean that the depot will partially drain, and you are unlikely to see much in the way of drama on a Wednesday increase. Though, some cats like to react strongly after a skipped or fur shot. Again ECID - every cat is different.

Two hours is a lot of time and probably too late to do anything about it. But if you have advance notice and the flexibility to do so, you can move the shot time up 1/2 hour every day for 4 days before hand (or 15 minutes per shot for a total of 30), so that your shot time is now two hours in advance. This post has more details: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule. I had a monthly in person board meeting (back in those days!) where I had to leave home about 1 hour before normal shot time. I moved Neko's shot up 15 minutes per day for that meeting, then moved it back again after. Since you have to skip a shot, you can shoot any time after that which is at least 12 hours after your previous shot.
 
Back
Top