Could use some advice..

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbeerman

Member Since 2012
I think I messed up and I am not sure how to get back on track.

If I could get some opinions on my spreadsheet I would appreciate it.

I had Riley on 3 units 2x a day per the vet's instructions. He seemed to be bouncing on that so after reading all the info on here (start low and go slow) I reduced to 1 unit. But then I increased slowly back to 3 and even just a tad over 3 ( using u-40 syringes). I'm pretty sure I need to reduce his dosage but I'm not sure what would be best. Any help would be appreciated.
 
Re: Could you some advice

I can understand your confusion :mrgreen: you have had some very nice, almost regulated type numbers on 3 units. He does seem to either bounce from low overnight numbers, or the insulin doesn't last as long overnight. What is the difference in his eating during the am/pm cycles? It may be that you need to make some food available at night? The other alternative, if we would get a clear picture of the amps and why it's high, you might be able to shoot an 13/11 schedule, shooting a little earlier in the am and a little later at night.

If I were you, I would work with the food first, getting numbers whenever you can. If you consistently get the pmps in the 200s, I'd think about the shorter cycle at night.
 
Re: Could you some advice

I learned that many times, KT just doesn't wake up to eat during the pm cycle...house is quiet, no one to bother him. If I wake him up, he'll sometimes go eat if he's hungry but I have to get him REALLY awake or he'll just snooze again. He sometimes dives because of it...we're on a different insulin but I think the eating part applies to all of us.

BIG HUG!!
 
Re: Could you some advice

I have a 5 year son who wakes up and comes in our room each night normally between 3 & 5am. If Riley hears him (and he usually does) he begs to be fed so I will put out his 1st of 2 morning cans at that time. He gets the other can at AMPS. So I am guessing his morning #s are higher because of that can of food I am giving him when my son gets up.

In the evening I am checking PMPS #'s right around the time he gets his 1st of 2 evening cans. So his PMPS wouldn't be inflated because of food. He then gets his 2nd evening can aroung 8pm.

He is eating fine. You can tell he has been drinking his water but he is not draining the water bowl like he was before diagnosis. i had been giving him chicken flavored Pounce as a reward for testing but was just finally able to get him to accept freeze dried chicken.
 
Re: Could you some advice

So how close to the food is the test am and pm? We usually say more than 20 minutes after eating and up to 2 hours can impact the numbers upward. Important as you want to be shooting a "real" number at +12, not a food inflated one.

An automatic feeder might help. Once he hears the feeder go off, he may wake up and eat. If you can set it to open farther away from that amps, it would be good. Hopefully he would then be full closer and not want food around the 5am time?
 
Re: Could you some advice

He is definitely eating within that 20 to 120 minute timeframe before AMPS. I will have to figure out a work around for that. Maybe an autofeeder as you suggested. In the evening he gets his shot at the same time as his food. So that should be okay.

Does 3 units seem like the correct dose to you?

Thanks again for your help!
 
Re: Could you some advice

Squeaky and KT said:
I learned that many times, KT just doesn't wake up to eat during the pm cycle...house is quiet, no one to bother him. If I wake him up, he'll sometimes go eat if he's hungry but I have to get him REALLY awake or he'll just snooze again. He sometimes dives because of it...we're on a different insulin but I think the eating part applies to all of us.

BIG HUG!!

If only I could get Riley to sleep through the night. LOL -
 
I don't know about the 3 units. Once we figure out what the amps really is, without food, you'll have a better handle on the whole picture. Right now your pmps is looking great and you have some nice daytime midcycle numbers.
 
ok, thanks. I will stick with 3 for this evening and then see what his amps is tomorrow without food in that 2 hour window.
 
I've been learning it's easier to train us beans than it is to train the cats :lol: , so you might consider slipping in a test before that early morning feeding. If you do the auto timed feeder, be sure to have it rotate to an empty well at least 2 hours before testing BGs to get a "clean" reading (no food effecting the reading). :smile:
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
I've been learning it's easier to train us beans than it is to train the cats :lol: , so you might consider slipping in a test before that early morning feeding. If you do the auto timed feeder, be sure to have it rotate to an empty well at least 2 hours before testing BGs to get a "clean" reading (no food effecting the reading). :smile:

Good point about having an auto feeder rotate to an empty well. I didn't know that was possible. (Never had a reason to look at auto feeders before).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top