MelanieAndRacci
Member Since 2010
Racci has been constipated off and on now for weeks. I have been giving Miralax twice a day. Since I started miralax except for the very first few days, she's gone once a day. I've just increased to 1/4 tsp 2x day. I took her to the vet Monday with 3 tubes of urine for a complete urinalysis, fructosamine and exam and an anal gland infection, which she is very prone to.
Racci/s BG was in the 300's all day from the stress of the vet. Was down to 234 by am., 127 +7 & 119 pm. Today at her am was back at 306 which is what she's been doing the past few days. I gave her the reduced shot of 3.5u (she had been on 4.5 & 5u less than a couple of months ago. She hasn't moved her bowels now since yesterday early in the morning and it was just a little bit then and very hard. The vet said she looked okay other than her anal infection & it wasn't a bad one this time so I guess I cleaned it the right way, gave her a long acting antibiotic shot and some more just to keep in the house in case she needs more or for next time, medicated powder to keep her dry, a cleanup and shave, etc. She confirmed the anal gland infection, & it could be constipating her, suggested keeping her on the miralax & increasing the amount. She said as long as she goes every day not to worry. I started giving the increased miralax in syringes so I know for a fact that she got it all since she's a grazer. (She's had 2 doses like that.) Yet, she is still constipated! She hasn't gone since early yesterday. On the other hand, she is not struggling to go either and seems happy & is not in distress! I'm hoping I don't have to bring Racci back for a clean out. My vet does trust me to change dosing and everything that has to do with her diabetes or asthma so may tell me how and what to buy which would be easier on Racci but I really don't know if she needs it!
I also have to mention that she's in the process of switching to wet food finally from Purina Dm, which she loved. Now that she's been eating the wellness, mixed with homemade chicken, heated up in chicken broth, with a little of her dry on the side, she's gotten to the point where the chicken is so loved, that the dry is the last thing to eat. Yea!!! I'm using it as a treat now since there are no low carb treats that she likes. She got a new litter box too with lower sides since she was having trouble with her neuropathy & her left leg which she injured as a youngster but has no problem urinating in it.
I need some advice. Am I being paranoid by thinking she has to go every day if she is not complaining? If so, why is her bg high in the morning when she usually goes poop? It hasn't been this high in ages. Could it just be the anal infection? Maybe she's sore from the vet? Instead of keeping it dry like the vet suggested, I was thinking of putting some vaseline on her anus and the special powder around it. She always feels better when I put vaseline on it and usually goes afterwards. Could the change of food make her constipated also? What do you all think?
Thanks,
Melanie
Racci/s BG was in the 300's all day from the stress of the vet. Was down to 234 by am., 127 +7 & 119 pm. Today at her am was back at 306 which is what she's been doing the past few days. I gave her the reduced shot of 3.5u (she had been on 4.5 & 5u less than a couple of months ago. She hasn't moved her bowels now since yesterday early in the morning and it was just a little bit then and very hard. The vet said she looked okay other than her anal infection & it wasn't a bad one this time so I guess I cleaned it the right way, gave her a long acting antibiotic shot and some more just to keep in the house in case she needs more or for next time, medicated powder to keep her dry, a cleanup and shave, etc. She confirmed the anal gland infection, & it could be constipating her, suggested keeping her on the miralax & increasing the amount. She said as long as she goes every day not to worry. I started giving the increased miralax in syringes so I know for a fact that she got it all since she's a grazer. (She's had 2 doses like that.) Yet, she is still constipated! She hasn't gone since early yesterday. On the other hand, she is not struggling to go either and seems happy & is not in distress! I'm hoping I don't have to bring Racci back for a clean out. My vet does trust me to change dosing and everything that has to do with her diabetes or asthma so may tell me how and what to buy which would be easier on Racci but I really don't know if she needs it!
I also have to mention that she's in the process of switching to wet food finally from Purina Dm, which she loved. Now that she's been eating the wellness, mixed with homemade chicken, heated up in chicken broth, with a little of her dry on the side, she's gotten to the point where the chicken is so loved, that the dry is the last thing to eat. Yea!!! I'm using it as a treat now since there are no low carb treats that she likes. She got a new litter box too with lower sides since she was having trouble with her neuropathy & her left leg which she injured as a youngster but has no problem urinating in it.
I need some advice. Am I being paranoid by thinking she has to go every day if she is not complaining? If so, why is her bg high in the morning when she usually goes poop? It hasn't been this high in ages. Could it just be the anal infection? Maybe she's sore from the vet? Instead of keeping it dry like the vet suggested, I was thinking of putting some vaseline on her anus and the special powder around it. She always feels better when I put vaseline on it and usually goes afterwards. Could the change of food make her constipated also? What do you all think?
Thanks,
Melanie