Could Use Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Very Active Member
Racci has been constipated off and on now for weeks. I have been giving Miralax twice a day. Since I started miralax except for the very first few days, she's gone once a day. I've just increased to 1/4 tsp 2x day. I took her to the vet Monday with 3 tubes of urine for a complete urinalysis, fructosamine and exam and an anal gland infection, which she is very prone to.

Racci/s BG was in the 300's all day from the stress of the vet. Was down to 234 by am., 127 +7 & 119 pm. Today at her am was back at 306 which is what she's been doing the past few days. I gave her the reduced shot of 3.5u (she had been on 4.5 & 5u less than a couple of months ago. She hasn't moved her bowels now since yesterday early in the morning and it was just a little bit then and very hard. The vet said she looked okay other than her anal infection & it wasn't a bad one this time so I guess I cleaned it the right way, gave her a long acting antibiotic shot and some more just to keep in the house in case she needs more or for next time, medicated powder to keep her dry, a cleanup and shave, etc. She confirmed the anal gland infection, & it could be constipating her, suggested keeping her on the miralax & increasing the amount. She said as long as she goes every day not to worry. I started giving the increased miralax in syringes so I know for a fact that she got it all since she's a grazer. (She's had 2 doses like that.) Yet, she is still constipated! She hasn't gone since early yesterday. On the other hand, she is not struggling to go either and seems happy & is not in distress! I'm hoping I don't have to bring Racci back for a clean out. My vet does trust me to change dosing and everything that has to do with her diabetes or asthma so may tell me how and what to buy which would be easier on Racci but I really don't know if she needs it!

I also have to mention that she's in the process of switching to wet food finally from Purina Dm, which she loved. Now that she's been eating the wellness, mixed with homemade chicken, heated up in chicken broth, with a little of her dry on the side, she's gotten to the point where the chicken is so loved, that the dry is the last thing to eat. Yea!!! I'm using it as a treat now since there are no low carb treats that she likes. She got a new litter box too with lower sides since she was having trouble with her neuropathy & her left leg which she injured as a youngster but has no problem urinating in it.

I need some advice. Am I being paranoid by thinking she has to go every day if she is not complaining? If so, why is her bg high in the morning when she usually goes poop? It hasn't been this high in ages. Could it just be the anal infection? Maybe she's sore from the vet? Instead of keeping it dry like the vet suggested, I was thinking of putting some vaseline on her anus and the special powder around it. She always feels better when I put vaseline on it and usually goes afterwards. Could the change of food make her constipated also? What do you all think?

Thanks,
Melanie
 
First question: what was the name of the long lasting AB shot given? If you don't know the name, call the vet to find out. Ask if it was convenia ... see Dr. Lisa's link for info
http://catinfo.org/?link=convenia

Now you are giving miralax for the stool but it sounds like you are not adding enough water to the diet.... miralax pulls water from the body so when adding miralax to foods, you have to increase the water ..... make the meals more soupy.
 
Yes, it was Convenia. I'll go look at the link as soon aas I finish this message. I hope this isn't bad!!!

She's drinking a ton of water. I just wanted to make sure she was getting all of the miralax. Racci has 3 bowls of water and every time I test her (3x) I bring her small bowl of water and a small meal for her to the test spot. She drinks about 3-4oz each time, plus drinks from her fountain whenever. Overnight, she usually finishes her small bowl of water in the bedroom (about 6oz). I also mix it in her food so I think she's ok on that front.

Anything else you can think of? thanks!

Melanie
 
I don't rely on cats drinking from fountains or water bowls.
I add a min of 1/2 can water to 1can of food; then, when the bowl is empty, I know the cat ate the food and consumed the water.

Try mixing the water into the food so you can keep track of the exact amount of water intake.... you can even add that note in the comments column on your ss so others know that info.

ETA:
Are you adding the miralax into the food?

What I did when needing to add restoralax and vitamins, I mixed it all into a very small bit of food and then when that food was eaten, I added the rest of the normal meal, with lots of water, into the bowl.
 
I haven't been adding it to food because Racci is a grazer. She never eats much at a time and I never know if she will take a few bites or eat a good meal. She is in the middle of transitioning to wet food. I can only add so much water before she refuses to eat it. I still have to entice her to eat canned food by adding chicken and pouring the chicken water/juice over everything and mixing it up & heating it. As I said though she always has water mixed with the food. Sometimes she still refuses to eat it if she's in one of her moods. It's easier to put miralax in her water because she always drinks her water. That's what I had been doing up till now. I also add water during the day to her food so it doesn't get hard if she doesn't eat it right away.

I did put notes about her transitioning to wet food I think, in her spreadsheet, but I have so many notes there I didn't want it to get too confusing. She drinks a lot of water. I don't always see her but do see the empty small bowls and the fountain level go down. I'll try offering more though and see if that helps. She already thinks I've gone crazy checking on her every few minutes.

She was calling me to the bathroom every time she pooped since she knew I wanted to see it and clean it. She calls, then lays there by the bathroom door waiting for me to tell her she's a good girl. Well now she's even doing it when she urinates! :lol:

I read that article on CatInfo, scary. Luckily, Racci has had it before without a problem and she seems ok other than not pooping. She ate a great breakfast but didn't want dinner so I don't know if she's just not hungry yet or if she's not feeling as good now. I think the longer she doesn't go the worse she's feeling. She wouldn't eat until she moved her bowels the other day either.

Melanie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top