Hello all - new poster to this board, but you all were very helpful in the early days of Baxter's diagnoses of diabetes earlier this year. Hoping I can get some answers - the vet tech is perplexed and basically laughed at my goal to get him in remission. Here's the story:
Baxter is diagnosed with diabetes 9/21/12
His glucose level is 449, his cholesterol is 271
His triglycerides are 1835
Switched his diet on 9/21 from all dry kibble to Fancy Feast 9/21/12 (approx 2 cans per day, 3 oz per can)
Glucose measure at home on 9/30 (6:30pm before food), his number is 297.
Start insulin injections, 2 units twice a day (the vet had recommended 3 but I lowered the dose to 2 based on information I had read here about starting "low and slow".
Started him on raw food on 10/7/12
www.primalpetfoods.com/product/detail/c/7/id/10
He gets 4 oz, 2x per day (recently reduced to 3.5 oz each meal)
Went to vet on 10/5 for all day blood curve.
Weight is 11 lbs
8:40am- BG 468
8:45am- 1 full can Fancy Feast and ate 100%
Followed with 2U insulin (ProZinc SQ)
10:40am-BG 394
12:40pm-BG 241
2:40pm-BG 170
4:30pm-BG 153
vet confirms the 2U of insulin is a proper dosage.
10/12: BG 378 (7am)
We continue to monitor his BG through oct and nov.... always tests in the high 200s to mid 300s. Continue with 2 unit dose of insulin after each meal.
Went on vacation, we return on 11/18/12, and test him (before food) the following morning. He's 118. Twice daily testing since then, and he is anywhere from the 80s to about 130. Have had him off insulin since 11/19/12. His energy level is great, he's eating his food, has gained ALL of his weight back, he's not lethargic or strange in any way. In fact he's more loving than he's ever been. Can i consider him to be in remission? How often do i have to continue to test him? Can i go every other day for awhile? What are the odds he will stay healthy now that his BG is back in normal range?
Thanks so much for any guidance!!
Baxter is diagnosed with diabetes 9/21/12
His glucose level is 449, his cholesterol is 271
His triglycerides are 1835
Switched his diet on 9/21 from all dry kibble to Fancy Feast 9/21/12 (approx 2 cans per day, 3 oz per can)
Glucose measure at home on 9/30 (6:30pm before food), his number is 297.
Start insulin injections, 2 units twice a day (the vet had recommended 3 but I lowered the dose to 2 based on information I had read here about starting "low and slow".
Started him on raw food on 10/7/12
www.primalpetfoods.com/product/detail/c/7/id/10
He gets 4 oz, 2x per day (recently reduced to 3.5 oz each meal)
Went to vet on 10/5 for all day blood curve.
Weight is 11 lbs
8:40am- BG 468
8:45am- 1 full can Fancy Feast and ate 100%
Followed with 2U insulin (ProZinc SQ)
10:40am-BG 394
12:40pm-BG 241
2:40pm-BG 170
4:30pm-BG 153
vet confirms the 2U of insulin is a proper dosage.
10/12: BG 378 (7am)
We continue to monitor his BG through oct and nov.... always tests in the high 200s to mid 300s. Continue with 2 unit dose of insulin after each meal.
Went on vacation, we return on 11/18/12, and test him (before food) the following morning. He's 118. Twice daily testing since then, and he is anywhere from the 80s to about 130. Have had him off insulin since 11/19/12. His energy level is great, he's eating his food, has gained ALL of his weight back, he's not lethargic or strange in any way. In fact he's more loving than he's ever been. Can i consider him to be in remission? How often do i have to continue to test him? Can i go every other day for awhile? What are the odds he will stay healthy now that his BG is back in normal range?
Thanks so much for any guidance!!