PiePie
Member Since 2018
We're almost 3 weeks on no carb cat food. We were doing 1 unit twice a day and just increased to 1.5 units.
So far BG #s are: 306, 347, 247, 373, 410, 299. Today pre-food (he ate a little, so this was about 10 minutes after he ate) 371, and an hour an a half after 1.5 units, 370. I am 100% sure the shots last night and this morning went it. I'd give us about 90% success on shots so far. We tested our other cat and his number was 76, so I'm confident our AlphaTrak meter is working fine.
I have a message in at the vet to see what we should do. I'm not concerned about hypo at these numbers, but how quickly can I increase his dose? Should I be seeing results from the food change or even the 1 unit insulin by this point? Should I demand to switch to Lantus?
He seems to be feeling better. When we first took him to the vet, he was staying in his kitty bed or upstairs and now he's being more social again. But I am concerned that his numbers aren't improving.
Any advice would be welcome. The bottle is stated to expire in March 2019, keeping it in the fridge and mixing prior to injecting. Maybe my fridge is too cold?
So far BG #s are: 306, 347, 247, 373, 410, 299. Today pre-food (he ate a little, so this was about 10 minutes after he ate) 371, and an hour an a half after 1.5 units, 370. I am 100% sure the shots last night and this morning went it. I'd give us about 90% success on shots so far. We tested our other cat and his number was 76, so I'm confident our AlphaTrak meter is working fine.
I have a message in at the vet to see what we should do. I'm not concerned about hypo at these numbers, but how quickly can I increase his dose? Should I be seeing results from the food change or even the 1 unit insulin by this point? Should I demand to switch to Lantus?
He seems to be feeling better. When we first took him to the vet, he was staying in his kitty bed or upstairs and now he's being more social again. But I am concerned that his numbers aren't improving.
Any advice would be welcome. The bottle is stated to expire in March 2019, keeping it in the fridge and mixing prior to injecting. Maybe my fridge is too cold?
Fingers still crossed.