Corduroy, AMPS=433

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning all! ~O)

His numbers kind of surprised us last night, but this is becoming par for the course ;-) At PMPS, he was 446, then went down to 333 at +2, so even though it was a big drop, we thought we had some leeway (sp?). Anyway, I woke up at +6 to check...it was 79! My husband then checked it for two hours after that until it went back up to 100. Today, at +11, it was 270 and shot up to a whopping 433 an hour later!

I'm pretty sure this is what everyone keeps telling me a bounce is, but my hard head didn't get it until I read Julie's post about bounces this morning. Now, it seems to make more sense...finally!

I hope everyone has a good Friday and that your kitties are having an even better one! :mrgreen:
 
I have to go searching out that bounce post from Julie now, because J.D. sure bounces.

I hope you have a good weekend.
 
it did take me a while to spot a bounce, but once you get the hang of it, you've got it. Corduroy's definitely bouncing.

Use your +2 as a pointer for where the cycle might go. If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, that points toward a "typical active" Lantus cycle, where he's going to drop until nadir, then rise to the next preshot.

If the +2 is significantly higher, often that points to a bounce beginning.

When the +2 is significantly lower, however, like you saw last night (dropped 113 points from preshot), that's a major HEADS-UP that you need to pay extra attention. If a cat drops more than about 50 points per hour, the speed of the drop alone can set up a bounce, even if they never get into low numbers. You can feed him to slow him down. If he develops this as a pattern, you might want to consider spreading his food out in the first 3 hours of each cycle to help him flatten out some.

Does that kinda make sense?

i have noticed in looking at Corduroy's spreadsheet that he doesn't seem to really get a food spike. His +1's are often lower than his preshot. Just something to be aware of. When you get to the point of shooting lower numbers, you're going to want to get a +1 and make sure he's not going too low, too quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top