Copper- Is this regulation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Very Active Member
Copper has been doing good these days. Not green, but low blue's during the day and low pink at ps. Sometimes, like tonight, he is in the mid 200's(yellow) for ps. Is this considered regulated FD kitty? Or maybe he need's to be in the green's during the day and low 200's for ps? Well, anyway, he seems to be doing good. Still has neuropathy problems, but jumping on the couch and chairs, etc. Walks on his tippy toes and not his hocks anymore. So guess he is getting a little better. Just think his muscles will not come back though, they are so apathy. I try to play with him and make him climb stairs, but don't seem to help. I'm just happy he is doing so much better. Guess i will stick with PZI for the next bottle in a bout a week. Thought about switching, but since doing better i will stay a little longer. Vet says he fizzles out about +9 or +10. Not tonight anyway.....

amps@315
fed
shot 1.6u
+4 241 fed extra
+7 189 fed
pmps@255
fed
shot 1.4u
+3.5 205 fed
 
You've got a fairly steady dosing pattern going and have still got some room to slightly increase the insulin dose scale so he can spend more time in the low blues and upper greens. The closer his numbers approximate the range of normal cat's glucose, the less damage can ocurr to his body.

For the neuropathy, have you used methyl-B-12? (methylcobalamin or Xobaline?)
 
I think general thought is preshots in lower 200's and nadirs around 100 to low 100's were considered regulated.
You probably could increase just a hair to see if it gets him into lower nadirs but I know once you've found a dose that hes getting consistent good numbers with, sometimes there is reluctance to tweak it since with some cats that seems to create wonkiness.
I can't remember either if you give Copper B-12 or not.
Accupuncture and T-touch massage helped Henry, hes walking normally now and runs and chases his brothers and jumps onto the bed.
Glad to hear Copper is doing so well with stabilized lower BGs.
 
Hi Lori!

In the FAQ, they list the different BG ranges that indicate "regulated", "well regulated", etc. Here's what it says.

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":

Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]

Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]

Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]

Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]

Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]

Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]

So yes, I think Copper's numbers recently would fit into the "regulated" category.

Carl
 
Wow! Thanks guys! That is encouraging! Nice to think he is at least a little regulated. I know i need to tweak it up a tad, but when i do he seems to bounce and then go wacko for a couple of days. He really seems to like the consistant dose for some reason. I just tested him at 3.5hrs and he is coming down nicely without the big drop. It seems to me that when he makes the BIG drops, then his ps's numbers are higher and takes a day or two to clear again. I'm trying to get it where he drops slowly and stays in the low 100's for nadir and then comes back up to the 200's for ps. Then i can slowly incrase a bit. Will see. My plans never seem to match his much.

Yes, i have been on zobaline for cats (5pills/day) since his dx. I know Carl has said that it takes months after they are "well regulated" to normalized that the neuropathy will get better. He still seems to run and chase all sorts of critters and has no problem getting around. He is very active. Just looks like it would hurt to me to walk on your hocks all the time. Looks to me his hip muscles are apathy. Hoping this comes back.

THanks for all the input all!!

lori
 
Whistle.gif


Woo-hoo, Copper!!!!! Looking good!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top