Copper 4/6- 4/7 NEW DAY and UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Well i'm going for it. I'm increasing copper's dose to 1.8u. I'm tired of him just barely getting to blue's and now going basically yellow flat. So felt it was time to try new dose and i can be here most of the day to watch. Wish us luck.

Recap: 3/6
amps@391
fed (raw turkey)
shot 1.8u

Everyone have a GREAT day! At least it's not raining this am yet.
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Incerease today...

Good morning -

I just glanced at Copper's spreadsheet and wondered... why do you only do .1u increases? Unless you're having some real surprise drops, or if it takes him several cycles to adjust to each dose increase, I think most people (except those mini- or micro-dosing) are doing .2 or .25u increases. The .1 increase is for someone that sees a drastic change w/ any more than that. Just my 2 cents!
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today...

He does do the surprise drops after he settles into a dose so that is why i only slowly increase. He really responds to the .1u increases very well. I'll see how he does today on the 1.8u.
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today...

WOW! Over 200pt drop @ +4. Hope he slows down a bit.


+4 185
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today...

OMG!!! pmps@416 What happened??? He didn't even go green today for that panic bounce. Just don't get it!!!! Maybe i am going the wrong way- I just don't know. What am i doing wrong???? Or maybe it's because he dropped 200pts in 4hrs. Too steep of a drop? So back to the 1.6 or 1.7 i guess. UGH!

Recap: 4/6
amps 391
+4 185 (fed)
+6 165
+7.5 170
+8 (fed)
pmps: 416 (OMG!)-bong...bong...
fed
Shot 1.6u
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

Forgot to wish everyone happy cycles to come!!!

Lori
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

Lori -

Any chance you retested when you got that high PS? I know I'm really OCD when it comes to that, but when something is so out of alignment with what I'm expecting, I grab another strip. Just a thought. Great numbers mid-cycle. Have a nice night!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

No i didn't do another test. He was very agitated with the poke, so i know he was high. He was starved @+10 but waited to fed until +12. He probably was already high at that point. WHo knows. I thought with higher dose, they would have a longer duration. Didn't look like it. Also, he is acting very sluggish this evening. Will test in about a half n hour and see where his +3 is and then maybe i will do a +4. I will see how he looks in numbers and decide whether to go to bed or not. I'm SOoooo tired.
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

I wish I knew what to tell you, but that's what we're going through, too. Hershey drops, but I wouldn't think low enough to cause a panic bounce. However, PS will be higher than I had hoped/expected. I keep telling myself to be patient and give him a few cycles to settle into the new dose...new scale...whatever. I KNOW it's easier said than done.

Just remember - it's nothing you're doing wrong. There are so many things at play that we just can't know them all and have to take it 12-hours at a time. I know that's probably not helpful, but it's the hand we have to play.

Wishing you a good night and GOOD numbers!
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

Thanks for the support. It's just been a real stressful couple of days on the home front and this didn't help tonight. I was shocked to see it so high. Just so frustrating!! I have been trying to be patient and have waited and played around with the 1.6 and 1.7 dose for several weeks. Thought the 1.8u would really help him. But doesn't seem like this is the right direction. I'm just feeling that i need to be lower somehow. I know the nadir do not support that theory, but he just seems to be better on the 1.5 or lower dose. I hate to go so low though, in case of DKA, etc. WIsh i just knew the magic number.

How was your night out?
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

I know what you mean about the magic number. Often wish I had a 'monkey thought translator' like on 'Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs' so Hershey could clue me in!

We had a nice night out; thanks for asking. We had 18 of the family there; several didn't show up, don't know what happened to them, but we had fun. Glad we had reserved the back room so we could close the door! :lol: :lol: Jessica (18) said she wasn't looking forward to getting old because you get 'boring presents.' They got $$$ - I told her we didn't think $$$ was BORING!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

Forgot to mention that my son-in-law started with a fever today, so my daughter came without him. She's such a wet blanket and didn't want 'baby bump' pix :sad: so I only got a few - party pooper! But, it was good to see her and hear that her pregnancy is progressing nicely. She does have a cold/allergies which is no fun, but she looks good :-D Praying she doesn't get whatever he has; I remember being sick during pregnancy and not being able to take anything to get relief! She left early because she was starting not to feel well and had an 1-1/2 hour drive to get home. Someone asked if she was going home to take care of her husband, she said - 'No - I'm going to bed!' :smile:
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

Hi Lori, the red PMPS is probably from the steep drop the first 4 hours. I would stick with the 1.8u, it gave you more action than you've been seeing lately, let it settle in for a few cycles.
 
Re: 4/6- Copper- Increased today--OMG-RED pmps!

New day 4/7:

Dosed the 1.6u last night and he seemed to come down in numbers nicely. His amps @334.

Shot 1.7u
+4 183

Already lower than with the 1.8. So maybe this will work. Will be in and out after +4 so can't test too much. Will see what happens. He seems very happy today hanging out under his favorite tree in the sun.

Will start a new thread tonight!
 
Re: 4/6- 4/7 NEW DAY and UPDATE

Lori -

Just a thought... and I'm not sure how other cats react to this, but Grayson's ravenousness can be very frustrating. This morning I got up to let the dogs out at about 4:30 and tested Grayson +(9). Initially some wonky high numbers I attributed to careless sleepy technique (439/440), and then the ones I believed (389 and RC 387). Either way, he actually dropped to 360 RC 365 at preshot. I've noticed this before, but never took a serious look for patterns of it (as I'd prefer to sleep through the night!). That may be another variable to consider... no tellin' if it'll do the same for Copper, but it wouldn't hurt to try once or twice.
 
That is a good idea Lu. I do notice that when he misses a meal his BG goes higher. I think it's because his tummy hurts=stress=high BG.

Anyhoo---+8 171 YEAH
Fed

Have to go to a family dinner thing now. Will not be back until right @ +12. Hope it's not RED.
 
I thought with higher dose, they would have a longer duration.

Lori, sometimes it may cause more duration, but more often it will cause a deeper curve.

I have been trying to be patient and have waited and played around with the 1.6 and 1.7 dose for several weeks. Thought the 1.8u would really help him. But doesn't seem like this is the right direction.
You have been patient, but remember to try to continue to be. This was his first cycle on the 1.8, and he seems to take a while to settle in. Don't give up on the experiment (TRY not too ;-) ) after just one cycle. One cycle, no matter what the dose is, won't give you a conclusive result, unless the amount is drastically different than it has been (BAM doses, for instance, are supposed to show you "something new"), although looking at Grayson's reactive to Lu's BAM attempt, you can see that even one dose at a bigger difference isn't going to be conclusive in every case.

I guess what I am trying to say is after just one cycle at a new dose, you still don't know for sure whether it will work or not. Copper does seem to be doing better this cycle, but part of that might be due to the 1.8 dose last cycle, and not necessarily due to the 1.6 this cycle.

She's such a wet blanket and didn't want 'baby bump' pix so I only got a few - party pooper!
Libby,
If you haven't already told her, tell your daughter that a beautiful woman is more beautiful when she is pregnant. (My opinion anyway). A woman who believes that to be true is even more beautiful. Tell her to show off that bump!

Carl
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
Libby,
If you haven't already told her, tell your daughter that a beautiful woman is more beautiful when she is pregnant. (My opinion anyway). A woman who believes that to be true is even more beautiful. Tell her to show off that bump!

Carl

Thanks, Carl - I try to remind her of it, but who listens to me - I'm just the mom! :roll: ;-)
 
THanks carl for the Pep talk! I know that i need to stick to it, but the RED pmps freaked me out. I thought it wasn't good to let them have such a deep curve anyway? That you want it to be more gradual? I just can't stay around all day every day to keep checking him. Too much going on this week. When i have several days in a row i will try the 1.8u again. I think i need to stick with the 1.7u for the next day or so and just see. Think i will be home more on Tuesday again. Tomorrow being Easter, it's so hectic.

Anyway....Thanks for encouragement. You know i always come back to waiting...what else can i do....

Libby,

How old is daughter again? Being pregnant is such a blessing. I never could keep my pregnancies in the womb long and every week was such a joy. The longest i went was 28wks into pregnancy. Wish i could of gone more. Hope she enjoys the pregnancy as time goes on!!!!


pmps@369
fed
shot 1.6

Hope all have some good cycles!!!
 
I thought it wasn't good to let them have such a deep curve anyway? That you want it to be more gradual? I just can't stay around all day every day to keep checking him.

You're right, don't want them too deep, or running too long. Both can mean a dose that is too high. But I want to see it happen a few times before making a determination (that old repeatability thing!), that's all I was trying to say.
But you know your upcoming schedule better than anyone, and you have to do what works best for you all things considered. That's good when you have a kitty like Copper who likes to throw you the occasional curveball right when it looks like things are becoming "normal". Put off the experiments for days when you have time to be there to watch how they go, that's a great idea. Life "gets in the way", but that's what life does, right?

Have a great Easter tomorrow! We're having a sunrise service at the lighthouse tomorrow. I'll be working though. Just hope they don't get between my camera and the sunrise!

Carl
 
[quote="Carl & Bob in SC]You're right, don't want them too deep, or running too long. Both can mean a dose that is too high. But I want to see it happen a few times before making a determination (that old repeatability thing!), that's all I was trying to say.
...Have a great Easter tomorrow! We're having a sunrise service at the lighthouse tomorrow. I'll be working though. Just hope they don't get between my camera and the sunrise![/quote]

I agree with the repeatability. Let's see if Copper wants to be a marathoner!

Carl - the thought of a sunrise service at the lighthouse sounds wonderful... even if you are "working". Have a beautiful Easter everyone!
 
Lori -

My daughter is almost 26 and is due in September. She lost a baby last year and I think that's partly why she's so...uncomfortable? hesitant? just can't seem to really relax and enjoy the experience. I enjoyed each of my pregnancies more than the one before and wish I had been smart enough to enjoy that time more instead of just trying to get through it. I'll post a picture on my thread as soon as I can get my camera cleared and hopefully find a good one. The wind was BLOWING so all the girls had hair issues. ;-)

Carl - Ooooohhh - sunrise service at the lighthouse! I miss sunrise services, our current church doesn't do them. A lighthouse sounds like a lovely place to have one.

I'll probably only have time to post BG's tomorrow, so have a wonderful EASTER!!
 
Carl,

I Soooo look forward to the lighthouse sunrise service picture! I remember one Easter we were in Ocracoke for Sunrise service on the beach. I loved it and a very memorable experience. Our sunrise service was cancelled and only one service tomorrow because our pastor ended up in ICU on ventilator last week because of misdx strep throat. Dump dr's here! He is better and infection gone but still on vent. Hopefully off by monday. He is only 44 yrs old with two young children. Was shocking for all us bc so sudden. He ended up at Baptist hosp and almost died. We are praising God for his life today.

As for Copper, yeah he keeps me on my toes. Doesn't all our kitties though. It wouldn't be FD without that from what i can see. Now keep Mullet out of the Choc. Easter bunnies!!! Happy Easter!

Libby,

Understand daughter's attitude. I've lost several babies late into pregnancy. My 1st daugher was born @28wks and only lived 2hrs bc too little to survive way back when +20yrs ago). But my 7th, Kesley Rose, survived @ 28wks(2lbs) and what a blessing! Was always scared too, but so enjoyed each day of life inside of me! She will settle down!

HAPPY EASTER everyone!!!!!!!


lori
 
Who told our boys red was an Easter color? Pastels, boys, pastels!!!

Wow - sorry to hear about your pastor. Glad he's doing better! I can only imagine how frightening it's been for him and his family. Hope you and yours had a nice Easter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top