Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not? UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Ok, i changed to 1.2u a couple of cycles ago and the first cycle he went into the blue's. Since then, he was only been in the 200's or 300's. Looks level to me if you throw in the 20% variance of meter. I don't understand this. You think he would come way down and be in the blue's or green's. Seems like he responded better on the .8u dose. Did i go the wrong way?? His amps was in 300's and now his pmps is 273. About the same. His +4 is steady @273. What? He only had 1once of food 4hrs prior. There is no way it is a food spike. What is going on?? Maybe too high of dose? Should i go back down in the morning? Or maybe i should go up? I just can't figure this stupid dance out! confused_cat

Please someone look at the SS and advise if you have time. I do his amps @6:45amEST.

Thanks!

Lori :dizcat
 
Re: Copper- 2/3- Wrong way or not?

Didn't you recently switch to using an AlphaTrak? I've been using it since the 15th and my brain still has trouble remembering that its normal for it to test higher than the Relion did. All of a sudden she was testing higher and I was freaking out. Could that be what's up?
 
Re: Copper- 2/3- Wrong way or not?

No, actually i stayed with the relion micro. I have been comparing every now and then with the AT and they are close in numbers. In fact, yesterday, i compared relion and At side by side on same drop and they were within 8pts of each other. So i'm thinking that the relion is still ok.

Thanks for asking. I still am not 100% confident with ANY meter.

Lori
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

Amps@326. Highest yet. Not sure what to do. WIll go ahead and shot another 1.2u on this cycle. If still high i will have to reevaluate.

What are your thoughts?

Lori
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

Any chance of doing a curve today to get a better picture?

And I'm still wondering how, if at all, the Frontline may effect BGs. :smile:
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

I like Teresa's idea of a curve. Maybe it will help us figure things out.

Don't lose sight of the lovely numbers you are seeing - nice yellows with a few lower pinks at preshot. No big swings, not reds and blacks.
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

I second Teresa’s + Sue’s advice of a curve, or at least some mid cycle numbers that might include your nadir. I can’t make any dose change judgements for Asher unless I know what’s going down mid day or late day.
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

I will try. His nadir is so whacky. Some days +5 or +6 and other days +8 or +9. I also have to feed in between those times and this usually throws things off too. I will to get +3, +5.5 and +7.5. We will see. It could be he is just off and needs to settle in new dose too. I just don't understand how the 1st cycle goes good and then all the rest level out.

I'm also at the end of the vial . I have about 3ml left. Does this mean that it is stronger or less stronger near the end? I do have a new vial i haven't opened yet, just in case i drop one. Should i just start on new vial tomorrow and let this one sit? I hate to throw away when i have about a week's worth left.

lori
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

I have used all our insulin down to the last drop and haven’t noticed much of a difference. Some people think the insulin gets LESS potent at the end of a vial, so care should be taken when starting a new one just in case it is stronger than your cat is used to.

I keep one vial with a little bit in it just in case I do drop one. My vet is 45 mins away so it makes me feel a bit safer doing so...
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

Carl gave a great example of the end of a vial...it's like the last swig of beer. No matter how ice cold it may still be, it's still the dregs. :lol:

I'm sure a lot of it has to do with how the vial has been cared for, how well it's been mixed each dose, and all that good jazz too. :-D
 
Re: Copper- 2/4- Wrong way or not?

Did as much as i could for a curve today. Had to leave after 7.5 and got pmps 1/2hr late. He basically stayed level again today in the mid yellow's if you account for meter variance. His pmps @275. The lowest reading i got was 7.5@204. He might of gone lower, but i doubt it. Also, i'm near the end of vial. About 5mil(week's worth) left.

I guess this is the right direction. What do you all think? Stay steady at dose, go up or go down?

Fed
Shot 1.2
 
I am one of the ones that thinks the insulin poops out at the end of the vial! I am not saying I would throw it out, but I would take it into account that you are at the end of the vial and wouldn't get too alarm with any wonky cycles. Also, whenever I start a new vial, I always reduce a little on the first cycle. I really believe that the vials are more potent when first opened! Just my thoughts!
 
+3.5 @ 224. He was SOoo hungry i had to give in and feed. I was waiting for the +4.5 to test and then i was going to bed. Oh well. I think i might test one more time, but now i have to wait for at least 2hrs post food. I need to get up earlier and get to church in morning, so not sure if i will. I'll see.

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top