Cooper diet change (recovering from DKA)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marc & Cooper

Member Since 2021
Hello all!

Cooper is still doing well in terms of acting himself and no ketones! I am still currently giving him the dry food at insulin time and a wet snack half way through as seen on my SS.

I am wondering when I should try to make the change to a full wet food low carb diet? I am home on vacation from work now for 7 days so I’ll be home and able to test him very often! Also, if it is time to try this what should I do with his insulin dose?

Cooper also recently had his last vet office curve as I’ll be doing them at home from now on. If my SS is missing any key information please let me know!

Thank you all! You have been extremely helpful so far in this new, stressful journey.
 
Hi Marc
I think this would a good time to try and wean Cooper off the dry food if you are going to be home.
Three things you need to monitor closely while doing this.
  • Make sure you monitor the BG closely as changing over from dry to low carb wet food can drop the BG by 100 points. You will probably need to reduce the dose. But post and we can help with that.
  • Keep testing every day for ketones.
  • Make sure Cooper is still getting a good amount of food.
Good luck. Let us know how it goes.
 
  • Make sure you monitor the BG closely as changing over from dry to low carb wet food can drop the BG by 100 points. You will probably need to reduce the dose. But post and we can help with that.
Ok so keep him on his current dose for now to start?

Make sure Cooper is still getting a good amount of food.

He’s at 13 pounds and the vet said that’s a good weight to maintain him at. I’m feeding him the fancy feast classic pate chicken recipe. Does 3 3oz cans per day sound like the best way to maintain that weight? Also should he get a full 3oz can at his insulin time and then should I just split the 3rd can up as a snack throughout the day?
 
so keep him on his current dose for now to start?
Yes but be guided by the BG numbers and ask for help if the BGs drop. Remember you can feed a higher carb food if the BG drops too low.

He’s at 13 pounds and the vet said that’s a good weight to maintain him at. I’m feeding him the fancy feast classic pate chicken recipe. Does 3 3oz cans per day sound like the best way to maintain that weight? Also should he get a full 3oz can at his insulin time and then should I just split the 3rd can up as a snack throughout the day
I think a 13 lb cat would need about 330 to 340 calories a day so see what each of the cans has in terms of calories per can.
I would probably give half the daily allowance for the main meals and the other half for all the snacks. You can tweak that to suit yourself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top