Cool Kitty11/11 TID

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Cool Kitty is still hanging in there. We started a new vial this week and are shooting close to 4 units TID now. We haven't seen a blue preshot lately, most are in the 200 to low 300 range. Today makes 1 year since Kitty was first tested for Diabetes. The BG test came back at 150, but the vet suggested that it was probably due to stress and that we should wait and retest later. She was showing diabetic symptoms when I took her in...excessive drinking and urination. Not having found this board yet, I listened to the vet and waited until February to have Kitty retested. When we went back in the first of Feb., she had lost 3 pounds and her BG was now 412. I often wonder what would have happened if I had started treatment earlier for Kitty....could her pancreas have been "saved!"

But that is hindsight........we must live in the present....


So, I feel like we are one year out and she is still kicking! She is back to her pre-diabetic weight and is doing pretty good. She is showing aging symptoms, but nothing too serious at this time. I am thankful everyday for finding this board and receiving the support of everyone.

I would love to see Kitty in better numbers, but this time of year it is all I can do to shoot three times a day. So, I am accepting the test results, but hoping in December when my work load lessens that I can get more aggressive and lower her numbers.

I still have not updated the SS....hopefully, I will soon!!!

Just wanted to check in and say "Hi" and wish everyone a Great Weekend!
 
Hi Kim,
I, like you have a similar story and October was one year since he started insulin
his number was 128 when the vet first tested him so he put him on a "diabetic diet"
which was the higest carb dry food diet there is, that is when he stared losing weight and drinking too much
and obviosly months before I found this site....
but as you say...nothing we can do about the past, just try to move on and do what we can for our babies!
Glad she is doing well and I still cant believe that you are getting preshots in the 200's!!
temember in the begininning you NEVER that you sould see that!
Glad she is doing well and I hope you have a great weekend!!
Densie and Shakes
 
Hang in there. The numbers are actualky pretty good, even though that's a lot of insulin. All you can do is the best you can; Miss Kitty is in good hands. Hope life settles.down soon, and have.a good.weekend.
 
Woulda coulda shoulda. I look back on some of the decisions I've made and have regrets but we push on.

I'm glad Ms. Kitty is doing so well. Hopefully when things settle down some you will be able to come hang out with us a little more.

Have a great weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top