kse
Member Since 2011
Good Morning....Things seem pretty down in PZI land, so I thought this might be a good time for a positive update.
Kitty's numbers have been so good, that I have actually been concerned that something negative might be going on with her (I would direct you to her SS, but let's don't go there!!!). She is still being dosed tid, but her preshots are mostly in the mid 200s and a couple of times last week, I actually had to shoot bid because she was in the low 100s at her tid preshot. I was out of town yesterday for a business meeting, so she went to the vet for the day and I had her checked out. Her weight is stable and the vet said everything looked great! After reading about all the meter variations, I was a little concerned about my "good" readings, so I had her checked against the alpha track yesterday and the AT actually read about 15 points lower than the Accu Chek Aviva that I use.
This dance has been a tremendous challenge for us. I read daily in PZI and I feel all of the frustrations and have lived most of them. But, if Kitty can become regulated, then there is hope for all our PZI cats. Diabetes is such a complex disease and it is so hard to manange, but our cats are the lucky ones! Prior to the regulation that we are experiencing now... we tried bid, I threatened to switch insulins, I cried, I drank (still do), etc.....but, in the end it was just a matter of trial and error...and then finally, it just happened! So, don't give up......just keep dancing!
On another note....Sally (dog) spent the night in the ER with a flare up from eating for the first time, but she seems better this morning. I am taking her to the University Vet School today for her ultrasound and bloodwork, so keep her and my pocketbook in your thoughts and prayers!!!!!
Kitty's numbers have been so good, that I have actually been concerned that something negative might be going on with her (I would direct you to her SS, but let's don't go there!!!). She is still being dosed tid, but her preshots are mostly in the mid 200s and a couple of times last week, I actually had to shoot bid because she was in the low 100s at her tid preshot. I was out of town yesterday for a business meeting, so she went to the vet for the day and I had her checked out. Her weight is stable and the vet said everything looked great! After reading about all the meter variations, I was a little concerned about my "good" readings, so I had her checked against the alpha track yesterday and the AT actually read about 15 points lower than the Accu Chek Aviva that I use.
This dance has been a tremendous challenge for us. I read daily in PZI and I feel all of the frustrations and have lived most of them. But, if Kitty can become regulated, then there is hope for all our PZI cats. Diabetes is such a complex disease and it is so hard to manange, but our cats are the lucky ones! Prior to the regulation that we are experiencing now... we tried bid, I threatened to switch insulins, I cried, I drank (still do), etc.....but, in the end it was just a matter of trial and error...and then finally, it just happened! So, don't give up......just keep dancing!
On another note....Sally (dog) spent the night in the ER with a flare up from eating for the first time, but she seems better this morning. I am taking her to the University Vet School today for her ultrasound and bloodwork, so keep her and my pocketbook in your thoughts and prayers!!!!!