kse
Member Since 2011
Where to begin?!
Lets start with Kitty.....her amps (tid) was 212, I shot 3.2 units! Kitty is doing Great!
Now to Sweet Sally (dog). Whew.....what a job! I counted last night, Sally gets 21 doses of medicine in a 16 hour period. It is overwhelming! The meds start at 6am and continue until 10 pm. And, wouldn't you know, Kitty's insulin is on a completely different schedule.
Sally is still eating very little. The vet is considering a temporary feeding tube, if she does not start eating more. Ideally, Sally should eat 4 tablespoons of food at 6 hour intervals. This morning, she did eat a little boiled hamburger and some oatmeal cookie! I know, the cookie probably was not warranted, but........she wanted it and what the heck, it should be safe! She does not appear as jaundice today, so HOPEFULLY the liver medications are helping.
This morning, Sally's bg was 132. I skipped the insulin. I am very nervous shooting any insulin into those type numbers, especially with her not eating well.
My experience with Kitty and her diabetes, I really think is helping Sally. The vet actually told me to reduce Sally's dose in half if she was not eating well. Had I followed that advice this morning, and not tested, I would have shot 3.5 units of N into the low reading.
There is a possibility that the diabetes is transient in Sally and as her pancreas heals, the need for insulin will subside. So, Sally is stable, but still has a very long way to go to recovery.
Thanks for letting me "talk" about Sally here. I know I am surrounded by friends here, that understand the love we share for our pets. So, once again, "Thanks!"
Ooopppss, gotta go.....time for meds!!!!!
Kim....
Lets start with Kitty.....her amps (tid) was 212, I shot 3.2 units! Kitty is doing Great!
Now to Sweet Sally (dog). Whew.....what a job! I counted last night, Sally gets 21 doses of medicine in a 16 hour period. It is overwhelming! The meds start at 6am and continue until 10 pm. And, wouldn't you know, Kitty's insulin is on a completely different schedule.
Sally is still eating very little. The vet is considering a temporary feeding tube, if she does not start eating more. Ideally, Sally should eat 4 tablespoons of food at 6 hour intervals. This morning, she did eat a little boiled hamburger and some oatmeal cookie! I know, the cookie probably was not warranted, but........she wanted it and what the heck, it should be safe! She does not appear as jaundice today, so HOPEFULLY the liver medications are helping.
This morning, Sally's bg was 132. I skipped the insulin. I am very nervous shooting any insulin into those type numbers, especially with her not eating well.
My experience with Kitty and her diabetes, I really think is helping Sally. The vet actually told me to reduce Sally's dose in half if she was not eating well. Had I followed that advice this morning, and not tested, I would have shot 3.5 units of N into the low reading.
There is a possibility that the diabetes is transient in Sally and as her pancreas heals, the need for insulin will subside. So, Sally is stable, but still has a very long way to go to recovery.
Thanks for letting me "talk" about Sally here. I know I am surrounded by friends here, that understand the love we share for our pets. So, once again, "Thanks!"
Ooopppss, gotta go.....time for meds!!!!!
Kim....