Klaree and Ollie
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone!
Ollie (12 year old diabetic male, diagnosed 1 year 10 months ago) and I am new to FDMB. We were using Vetsulin and I free-fed him Hill's M/D. He got 11 units of U-40 Vetsulin BID (so about 22 units when using a U-100 syringe) with LOTS of variation in BG readings over the last year but fairly normal behavior (some lethargy here and there) and normal amounts of urination. Two weeks ago he had a dental and his pre-op blood work was: 95 Blood glucose and 322 Fructosamine (which the vet told me was 'excellent' for a diabetic). The dental (4 extractions) did not go well. In a nutshell I ended up having to admin sub-q fluids 3/day and force feed him with a syringe to keep him from losing too much weight (hepatic lipidosis fears...). After switching from Clyndimyicin (sp?) to Clavamox and using only a single dose of appetite stimulant, he started eating on his own and is now back to his normal self....except we switched him to Lantus and his BG is really high (started at >450, now reading around 250). We've been dosing with Lantus for 14 days. I was unaware that Lantus was radically different from Vetsulin and have been giving him too much....4 units BID. He is (obviously) overweight at 18 lbs and both my vets said he should weight about 14 lbs. I want to transition him to wet food (Wellness chicken, chicken/beef, turkey) as recommended by several people but really don't know how much Lantus to give him. Can I 'start over' with the calculated dose recommended from the protocol page: 1.6 units BID and start feeding wet food? If his body is now used to getting 4 units BID, will that cause trouble? Should I start over with the Lantus and THEN switch him to wet food?
Any help is greatly appreciated!
Klaree and Ollie
Ollie (12 year old diabetic male, diagnosed 1 year 10 months ago) and I am new to FDMB. We were using Vetsulin and I free-fed him Hill's M/D. He got 11 units of U-40 Vetsulin BID (so about 22 units when using a U-100 syringe) with LOTS of variation in BG readings over the last year but fairly normal behavior (some lethargy here and there) and normal amounts of urination. Two weeks ago he had a dental and his pre-op blood work was: 95 Blood glucose and 322 Fructosamine (which the vet told me was 'excellent' for a diabetic). The dental (4 extractions) did not go well. In a nutshell I ended up having to admin sub-q fluids 3/day and force feed him with a syringe to keep him from losing too much weight (hepatic lipidosis fears...). After switching from Clyndimyicin (sp?) to Clavamox and using only a single dose of appetite stimulant, he started eating on his own and is now back to his normal self....except we switched him to Lantus and his BG is really high (started at >450, now reading around 250). We've been dosing with Lantus for 14 days. I was unaware that Lantus was radically different from Vetsulin and have been giving him too much....4 units BID. He is (obviously) overweight at 18 lbs and both my vets said he should weight about 14 lbs. I want to transition him to wet food (Wellness chicken, chicken/beef, turkey) as recommended by several people but really don't know how much Lantus to give him. Can I 'start over' with the calculated dose recommended from the protocol page: 1.6 units BID and start feeding wet food? If his body is now used to getting 4 units BID, will that cause trouble? Should I start over with the Lantus and THEN switch him to wet food?
Any help is greatly appreciated!
Klaree and Ollie